WBCA Administrator of the Year

The WBCA Administrator of the Year award is presented annually to an administrator, athletic director, associate or assistant athletic director, or senior woman administrator who has promoted women's basketball in a positive manner through clinics, speaking engagements, books, articles, research and/or special promotions at the local, regional and/or national levels, and who has served as a professional role model for student athletes. The award is presented during the WBCA Convention.

Click below to submit your nomination. Login is required.



Administrators, athletic directors, associate or assistant athletic directors, and senior woman administrators may be nominated for the award. A nominee does not have to be a member of the WBCA.


All college head coaches who are members of the WBCA may nominate any individual who satisfies the above criteria. Nominations must be submitted online.


The WBCA Board of Directors selects the recipient from the pool of nominees. Nominations of individuals who are not selected as the recipient remain active for three years

Past Recipients

2023 - Chris Plonsky, University of Texas
2022 - Kathy Meehan, St. John's University
2021 - Jennifer Strawley, University of Miami
2020 - Barbara Jacobs, American Athletic Conference
2019 - Diane Dickman, NCAA
2018 - Dru Hancock, Big 12 Conference
2017 - Jean Lenti Ponsetto, DePaul University
2016 - Rich Ensor, Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference
2015 - Chris Dawson, Pac-12 Conference
2014 - Connie Hurlbut, Western Athletic Conference
2013 - Teresa Gould, University of California, Berkeley
2012 - Pam Wettig, University of Denver
2011 - Theresa Wenzel, Georgia Tech
2010 - Janna Blais, Northwestern University
2009 - Carolyn Campbell-McGovern, Ivy League
2008 - Marianne Vydra, Oregon State University
2007 - Carol Sprague, University of Pittsburgh
2006 - Jane Meyer, University of Iowa
2005 - Debbie Richardson, Campbell University
2004 - Dr. M. Dianne Murphy, University of Denver
2003 - Cary Groth, Northern Illinois University
2002 - Marita Hynes, University of Oklahoma
2001 - Jane Meier, Northern Kentucky University
2000 - Bernadette McGlade, Atlantic Coast Conference
1999 - Don DiJulia, St. Joseph's University
1998 - Jean Lenti Ponsetto, DePaul University
1997 - Lynn Dorn, North Dakota State University
1996 - Dr. Mary Jo Wynn, Southwest Missouri State University
1995 - Ellen Perry, Penn State University
1994 - Lynn Barry, USA Basketball
1993 - Jeannine McHaney, Texas Tech
1992 - Dr. Christine Grant, University of Iowa
1991 - Dr. James Jarrett, Old Dominion
1990 - Dr. Judith Holland, UCLA
1989 - Dr. Donna Lopiano, University of Texas
1988 - Dr. Joyce Wong, University of Rochester
1987 - Nora Lynn Finch, North Carolina State University
1986 - Dr. Charlotte West, Southern Illinois University
1985 - Joan Cronan, University of Tennessee