Betty F. Jaynes Lifetime Achievement Award

The Betty F. Jaynes Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes an individual who has maintained a professional lifelong commitment of service to the game of women's basketball. This award is named after the late Betty F. Jaynes who was the WBCA's first and longest-serving executive director. The award is presented annually during the WBCA Awards Show at the WBCA Convention.

Click below to submit your nomination. Login is required.



 Coaches (FORMER). Must have coached a women's high school or college team for at least 10 years, demonstrating exceptional coaching talents or must have coached a women's team at least 10 years in a level other than high school or college (for example AAU or international play) and demonstrated exceptional service to the game of women's basketball.
 Players (FORMER). Must be a former player who has demonstrated outstanding talents and made a great contribution to the game.
 Others. Must have served in a capacity that enhanced the improvement, publicity or positive notoriety of the sport of women's basketball in such a way as to be considered outstanding (i.e., corporate sponsors, sports media, administrators, referees, educators, managers, etc.).
 When Eligible. Candidates become eligible after completion of significant contributions to the sport of women's basketball.


All college head coaches who are WBCA members may nominate any individual who fits the above criteria. Nominations must be received online by the advertised deadline. The nomination form must be fully completed and must include one supporting reference.


A selection committee chooses a recipent each year from the pool of eligible nominees. Nominations of individuals not selected remain active for a maximum of three years.

Past Recipients

2024 - Rich Ensor
2023 - Dee Kantner
2022 - Carol Callan, USA Basketball
2021 - Jody Conradt
2020 - M. Dianne Murphy
2019 - Sue Donohoe
2018 - Fran Garmon
2017 - Nora Lynn Finch, Atlantic Coast Conference
2016 - Lin Dunn
2015 - Nancy Winstel
2014 - Betty Jaynes 
2013 - June Courteau
2012 - Kay James, University of Southern Mississippi
2011 - Donna Wise, Campbellsville University
2010 - Marsha Sharp
2009 - Kay Yow, North Carolina State University 
2008 - Cherri Mankenberg
2007 - Brenda Byrd
2006 - Sue Gunter, Louisiana State University
2005 - Charles Heatly, Lindsay High School (OK)
2004 - Louise O'Neal, Wellesley College
2003 - Dr. Charlotte West, Southern Illinois University
2002 - Dr. Jill Hutchison, Illinois State University
2001 - Bob Spencer, California State University, Fresno
2000 - Dr. Brenda Reilly, Central Connecticut State University
1999 - Betty Wiseman, Belmont University (Tenn.)
1998 - Dr. Rose Marie Battaglia, Bergen Community College
1997 - Lea Plarski, St. Louis Community College
1996 - Carole Baumgarten, Drake University
1995 - Dr. Billie Moore, UCLA
1994 - Marcy Weston, Central Michigan University
1993 - Patsy Neal, Wayland Baptist University
1992 - Harley Redin, Wayland Baptist University
1991 - Alberta Cox, AAU Raytown Piperettes
1990 - Bertha F. Teague
1989 - Pat Summitt, University of Tennessee 
1988 - Hunter Low, Eastman Kodak
1987 - Cathy Rush, Immaculata College
1986 - Dr. Mildred Barnes, Central Missouri State University
1985 - Dr. Carol Eckman, West Chester University
1984 - Margaret Wade, Delta State University

Jaynes was named the WBCA’s first executive director in September 1981, just days after the association’s founding. Under her leadership, the WBCA established itself as the leading resource and advocate for and voice of coaches of women’s basketball, growing from 212 members in its initial year of existence to more than 3,000 at the time of her retirement in November 2001. Jaynes remained active with the WBCA as a consultant handling advisory assignments including finances, educational programming, advocacy, and special projects until her death in 2014.

The WBCA’s lifetime achievement award was first presented in 1984 as the WBCA Service Award. It was renamed the Berenson Service Award in 1997. The award became the Berenson Lifetime Achievement Award in 2007. The award was sponsored by Jostens from 1990 through 2023.