Carol Eckman Integrity in Coaching Award

Carol Eckman Integrity in Coaching Award

The late Carol Eckman, who organized the first college women's basketball championship tournament at West Chester State College in 1969, is regarded as the mother of the college women's basketball national championship. Eckman continued to garner recognition and support for the women's game until her death from cancer in 1985. In honor of her memory the WBCA presents the Carol Eckman Integrity in Coaching Award each year to a member coach who best reflects Eckman's character traits of courage, ethical behavior, honesty, sportsmanship and commitment to the student-athlete. The Carol Eckman Integrity in Coaching Award is presented to the recipient each year during the WBCA National Convention.

Click below to submit your nomination. Login is required.



Each WBCA member head coach or assistant coach at an NCAA DI, NCAA DII, NCAA DIII, NAIA and two-year college institution is eligible for the award.


The nominee's character and conduct must exemplify courage, ethical behavior, honesty, sportsmanship and commitment to the student-athlete.


Any WBCA member head or assistant coach at a collegiate institution may nominate a collegiate member coach who they believe satisfies the criteria. The nomination must be submitted online. A nomination consists of a list of coaching positions held, any outstanding contributions to the profession off the court, an explanation of what initiative the nominee has taken to promote women's basketball, and an essay on why the nominee should be considered for the Carol Eckman Integrity in Coaching Award. Members of the Carol Eckman Integrity in Coaching Award Selection Committee may nominate themselves or their fellow committee members for the award.


The Carol Eckman Integrity in Coaching Award Selection Committee holds a conference call during which all nominees are discussed and a recipient is chosen. Nominations remain active for three years.

Past Recipients

2023 - Coquese Washington, Rutgers University
2022 - Tricia Cullop, University of Toledo
2021 - Dixie Jeffers, Capital University
2020 - Harry Perretta, Villanova University
2019 - Agnus Berenato, Kennesaw State University
2018 - Tara VanDerveer, Stanford University
2017 - Naomi Graves, Springfield College
2016 - Ginger Colvin, Campbellsville University
2015 - Lisa Bluder, University of Iowa
2014 - Jane Albright, University of Nevada
2013 - Jan Ross, University of Oklahoma
2012 - Sue Ramsey, Ashland University
2011 - Joanne Boyle, University of California, Berkeley
2010 - Kevin Cook, Gallaudet University
2009 - Muffet McGraw, University of Notre Dame
2008 - Doug Bruno, DePaul University
2007 - Theresa Grentz, University of Illinois
2006 - Gail Goestenkors, Duke University
2005 - Bonnie Henrickson, University of Kansas
2004 - Deirdre Kane, West Chester University
2003 - Marsha Sharp, Texas Tech University
2002 - Barbara Stevens, Bentley College
2001 - Juliene B. Simpson, East Stroudsburg University
2000 - Kathy Delaney-Smith, Harvard University
1999 - Susan Summons, Miami-Dade Community College
1998 - Kay James, University of Southern Mississippi
1997 - Amy Ruley, North Dakota State University
1996 - Joann Rutherford, University of Missouri
1995 - Ceal Barry, University of Colorado
1994 - Sue Gunter, Louisiana State University
1993 - C. Vivian Stringer, University of Iowa
1992 - Jill Hutchison, Illinois State University
1991 - Marian Washington, University of Kansas
1990 - Dr. Maryalice Jeremiah, Cal-State Fullerton
1989 - Linda Hill-MacDonald, University of Minnesota
1988 - Kay Yow, North Carolina State University
1987 - Jody Conradt, University of Texas
1986 - Laura Mapp, Bridgewater College