WBCA Coach of the Year

Pat Summitt Trophy presented to the
WBCA National Coach of the Year

Named in honor of college basketball's all-time winningest coach, the Pat Summitt Trophy is presented annually to the WBCA National Coach of the Year in each of the five membership divisions – NCAA Division I, NCAA Division II, NCAA Division III, NAIA and two-year college. The criteria in order of priority are:

 Team success during current season
□ Team improvement from previous season
□ Fulfillment of team potential
□ Professional manner and attitude of coach

All five WBCA National Coaches of the Year are presented with The Pat Summitt Trophy during the WBCA Convention.

Click below to submit your nomination(s) and/or vote. Login is required.


Collegiate Divisions

 Eligibility.  Any collegiate head coach who is a WBCA member "in good standing."
 Nominations - Any WBCA member collegiate coach (head or assistant) may nominate an eligible head coach.
 Member Voting - Voting takes place by region in NCAA DI, NCAA DII, NCAA DIII and NAIA membership divisions. Ballots containing the names of all eligible nominees in each division are posted online. Member head coaches may vote only for nominees within their respective divisions and regions. The coach who receives the most votes in each region is the WBCA Regional Coach of the Year in that region and automatically becomes a finalist for the Pat Summitt Trophy. There is no regional voting in the two-year college division.
 Final Selection - A selection committee in each division chooses the WBCA National Coach of the Year from the pool of Regional Coaches of the Year. NCAA DIII also includes its national semifinal coaches in the pool of nominees. All nominees are considered for the award in the two-year college division.


 Past WBCA National Coaches of the Year