Maggie Dixon NCAA Division I Rookie Coach of the Year

The Maggie Dixon NCAA Division I Rookie Coach of the Year award is named in honor of the late Maggie Dixon, former Army head coach, whose success during her inaugural year at the Black Knights' helm was remarkable. Dixon was named 2006 Patriot League Coach of the Year after leading Army to the conference title and its first-ever NCAA Division I tournament appearance. Dixon passed away on April 6, 2006, just a few weeks following the Black Knights' appearance in the NCAA Tournament.

The spirit of Maggie Dixon lives on through this award whose recipients, by their selection, have demonstrated on-court success and enriched the lives of those around them. The criteria in order of priority are:

 Must be a current NCAA Division I head coach in his/her rookie season ("interim" head coach does not qualify)
 Qualification/advancement in the NCAA Tournament or WNIT
 Qualification/advancement in conference tournament
 Success in the conference during the regular season
 Team success during the regular season
 Team improvement from the previous season
 Regular-season conference record

The Maggie Dixon NCAA Division I Rookie Coach of the Year is presented to the recipient each year during the WBCA Award Show which is held as part of the WBCA National Convention.


Any WBCA member NCAA Division I head coach who is in their rookie season is eligible for this award. A rookie coach is defined as a first-year head coach in NCAA Division I women's basketball. A head coach whose institution has transitioned to NCAA Division I will not qualify for this award if it is not their first year as a head coach at that institution. A head coach/assistant coach who has coached at the professional level and then returns to the collegiate level IS NOT eligible for this award. An "interim" head coach does not qualify.


Any rookie coach who fits the above criteria is eligible for this award. There is no formal nomination process. All NCAA DI conference communications directors are contacted and asked to submit to the WBCA the names, awards and other relevant news regarding all rookie coaches within their respective conferences.


Each selection committee member reviews the information compiled by the WBCA office prior to its conference call in March. The committee discusses the candidates and selects the Maggie Dixon NCAA Division I Rookie Coach of the Year.

Past Recipients

2023 - Shawn Poppie, University of Tennessee at Chattanooga
2022 - Kelly Rae Finley, University of Florida
2021 - Kyra Elzy, University of Kentucky
2020 - Amaka “Mox” Agugua-Hamilton, Missouri State University
2019 - Carlos Funchess, Southern University
2018 - Bart Brooks, Belmont University
2017 - Shauna Green, University of Dayton
2016 - Joni Taylor, University of Georgia
2015 - Lisa Fortier, Gonzaga University
2014 - Billi Godsey, Iona College
2013 - Holly Warlick, University of Tennessee
2012 - Jennifer Hoover, High Point University
2011 - Stephanie Glance, Illinois State University
2010 - Teresa Weatherspoon, Louisiana Tech University
2009 - Kelly Packard, Ball State University
2008 - Jeff Walz, University of Louisville
2007 - Krista Kilburn-Steveskey, Hofstra University