5 schools slated to join Division II

Updated: 3 p.m. July 14, 2017  

By: Rachel Stark

Division II will add five new full members this fall, bringing its membership to 308 colleges and universities. 

The Division II Membership Committee this week voted to advance Cal State San Marcos, Concordia (California), Concordia Portland, Embry-Riddle (Florida) and Oklahoma Baptist to active Division II membership after the schools completed the required process. As active members, the schools will be eligible to compete in NCAA championships and vote at the NCAA Convention, among other benefits.

The committee also recommended the progression of five other schools that are working through the membership process. Westminster (Utah) was approved to begin the third year of the membership process, while Auburn Montgomery, Biola, Davenport and Purdue Northwest were approved to begin the second year.

The committee voted to remove Emmanuel (Georgia) and Spring Hill from the membership process. Both schools previously had been required to repeat one year of the three-year process, which is the maximum permitted by Division II legislation. If a school cannot complete the membership requirements within the established timeline, it is removed from the process and must wait one year to reapply.

All changes will take effect Sept. 1.

Release Date: 
Wednesday, August 2, 2017