WBCA announces NCAA Division II honorees for 2023-24 season

ATLANTA (March 21, 2024) – The Women’s Basketball Coaches Association announced today the NCAA Division II award winners for the 2023-24 season.

Coach of the Year

Georgia Southwestern University head coach Hana Haden is the 2024 WBCA NCAA Division II Coach of the Year. Haden will receive the Pat Summitt Trophy, named for the late legendary University of Tennessee coach and awarded annually to the coaches of the year in each of the WBCA’s membership divisions.

“The WBCA is proud to announce Hana Haden as the 2024 recipient of the Pat Summitt Trophy presented to the WBCA NCAA Division II Coach of the Year,” said WBCA Executive Director Danielle M. Donehew. "Hana was chosen for this honor after leading her team to an exceptional season. The WBCA recognizes and applauds her leadership example that can be seen in her student-athletes, institution and community.”

This year’s finalists for WBCA NCAA Division II Coach of the Year were:



LeAnn Freeland

Nova Southeastern University

Hana Haden

Georgia Southwestern State University

Beth Jillson

Texas Woman's University

Kari Pickens

Ashland University

Thomas Shirley

Thomas Jefferson University

Jennifer Smith

Lock Haven University of Pennsylvania

Player of the Year

Samantha Pirosko of Gannon University is the 2024 WBCA NCAA Division II Player of the Year and headlines the 2024 WBCA NCAA Division II Coaches’ All-America team.

The WBCA presents the Player of the Year award annually to the top player in five of the six WBCA membership divisions (NCAA Divisions II, and III, NAIA, two-year college and high school). The Wade Trophy is presented to the best player in NCAA Division I.

"The WBCA is pleased to name Samantha Pirosko as the 2024 WBCA NCAA Division II Player of the Year,” said Donehew. “She is most deserving of this distinguished honor. The WBCA applauds Samantha for her hard work, dedication and contributions to the game during the 2023-24 season.”

Coaches’ All-America

Here are the 2024 WBCA NCAA Division II Coaches’ All-Americans:



Kola Bad Bear

Montana State University-Billings

Joey Batt

Minnesota State University-Mankato

Kalifa Ford

Valdosta State University

Ashley Ingram

Texas Woman's University

Samantha Pirosko

Gannon University

Annie Roshak

Ashland University

Reese Schaaf

Drury University

Adriana Timberlake

Southern New Hampshire University

Lauryn Vieira

Eckerd College

Braelyn Wykle

Carson-Newman University

“We congratulate the members of the 2024 WBCA NCAA Division II Coaches’ All-America team,” said Donehew. “These young women have worked to elevate their teams and themselves to an elite level of competition. Through their exceptional talents on the basketball court, they have also lifted the women’s game.”

Here are the student-athletes who received 2024 WBCA NCAA Division II Coaches’ All-America honorable mention:



Rylie Bisballe

Grand Valley State University

Raiana Brown

Texas A&M International University

Kalaya Buggs

California State Polytechnic University-Pomona

Keeley Carter

Trevecca Nazarene University

Alyssa DeAngelo

Fairmont State University

Grace Foster

Lubbock Christian University

Mallory Hampton

Lee University

Iemyiah Harris

Miles College

Sage Hawley

Harding University

Emily Hege

Wingate University

Kelly Heimburger

Azusa Pacific University

Valerie (Sunny) Huerta

Central Washington University

Leah Johnson

West Chester University of Pennsylvania

Briana Lee

American International College

Alisha Little

Colorado State University-Pueblo

Brooke Littrell

University of Central Missouri

Diamond McDowell

Anderson University

Zoe Miller

Ashland University

Olivia Reed

Colorado Mesa University

Nicole Scales

Nova Southeastern University

Lexie Schneider

University of Mary

Molly Stokes

Assumption University

Lauryn Taylor

Francis Marion University

Dejah Terrell

Pennsylvania Western University-California

Lyrik Thorne

Catawba College

Katie Wagner

Fort Hays State University

Brooke Walling

Western Washington University

Emilee Weakley

Frostburg State University

Maggie Whitmore

Bentley University

Sam Yencha

Thomas Jefferson University

The WBCA NCAA Division II Coach of the Year, Player of the Year and Coaches’ All-America team are selected by the WBCA NCAA Division II Awards Committee from coaches and student-athletes who are nominated by WBCA member coaches.

Visit WBCA.org  to see a list of past recipients of each award.

About the WBCA 
The Women's Basketball Coaches Association is the professional association for coaches of women's and girls' basketball at all levels of competition. Founded in 1981, the WBCA offers educational resources that coaches need to help make themselves better leaders, teachers and mentors to their players; provides opportunities for coaches to connect with peers in the profession; serves as the unifying voice of a diverse community of coaches to the organizations that control the game; and celebrates those coaches, players and other individuals who excel each year and contribute to the advancement of the sport. Visit WBCA.org for more details about the association.

#  #  #