ATLANTA (March 18, 2018) — Bob Amsberry of Wartburg College has been named the 2018 United States Marine Corps/WBCA NCAA Division III National Coach of the Year, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association announced today.

Amsberry will be presented with the Pat Summitt Trophy, named for the legendary University of Tennessee coach, during the 2018 WBCA Convention, which will be held in conjunction with the NCAA® Women’s Final Four® in Columbus, Ohio.

"The WBCA is proud to name Bob Amsberry as the 2018 United States Marine Corps/WBCA NCAA Division III National Coach of the Year," said Danielle Donehew, executive director of the WBCA. "Bob was selected as the winner by his peers after leading his team to an exceptional season. The WBCA recognizes and applauds his leadership example that can be seen in his student-athletes, institution and community.”

Amsberry led Wartburg to a perfect 31-0 overall record and the school’s second-ever trip to the NCAA Division III final four this season. The Knights brought home their second-straight Iowa Conference regular-season and tournament titles. They are currently second in the rankings going into the final four. Amsberry was named the IIAC Coach of the Year for the second time in two years in 2018.

"The United States Marine Corps proudly recognizes Wartburg College’s Bob Amsberry for his contributions and leadership to the Knights and women’s basketball," said Lieutenant Colonel John Caldwell, National Director, Marketing and Communication, Marine Corps Recruiting Command.  "Coach Amsberry exemplifies the willingness to engage and determination to win of all Marines."

The United States Marine Corps/WBCA NCAA Division III National Coach of the Year is selected by a committee of coaches from among the regional coaches of the year who are nominated and selected by their peers. This year’s United States Marine Corps/WBCA NCAA Division III Regional Coaches of the Year are:

  • Region 1 – G. P. Gromacki, Amherst College
  • Region 2 – Amy Reed, Rochester Institute of Technology
  • Region 3 – Karin Harvey, Montclair State University
  • Region 4 – Michael Miller, Messiah College
  • Region 5 – Carroll LaHaye, Randolph-Macon College
  • Region 6 – Kole Vivian, Marietta College
  • Region 7 – Carissa Knoche, University of Chicago
  • Region 8 – Bob Amsberry, Wartburg College

Visit www.wbca.org/recognize/ to see a list of past recipients.

About the WBCA
Founded in 1981, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association is the professional association for coaches of women's and girls' basketball at all levels of competition. The WBCA offers educational resources that coaches need to help make themselves better leaders, teachers and mentors to their players; provides opportunities for coaches to connect with peers in the profession; serves as the unifying voice of a diverse community of coaches to the organizations that control the game; and celebrates those coaches, players and other individuals who excel each year and contribute to the advancement of the sport. Visit www.WBCA.org for more details about the Association.