SUNY Geneseo's Scott Hemer named 2016 United States Marine Corps/WBCA NCAA Division III National Coach of the Year

ATLANTA (March 18, 2016) – Scott Hemer, head coach at State University of New York at Geneseo, is the recipient of the Pat Summitt Trophy presented to the 2016 United States Marine Corps/WBCA NCAA Division III National Coach of the Year, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) announced today. This marks the 34th year since 1983 that the WBCA has presented this honor to a NCAA Division III head coach.

"The WBCA is proud to name Scott as the 2016 United States Marine Corps/WBCA NCAA Division III National Coach of the Year," said WBCA Executive Director Danielle Donehew. "Scott was selected as the winner by his peers after leading his team to an exceptional season. The WBCA recognizes and applauds his leadership example that can be seen in his/her student-athletes, institution, and community.”

"The Marine Corps continues to enjoy our long and successful partnership with the WBCA.  For us, one of the major highlights of the relationship is to annually recognize the organization's outstanding coaches," said Lieutenant Colonel Brian Proctor, Assistant Chief of Staff Diversity, Marine Corps Recruiting Command.  "Each of these fine individuals, chosen by their peers to receive this well-deserved honor, exemplifies the Marine Corps leadership values of honor, courage and commitment."

Hemer, the all-time winningest coach in program history with a 165-84 record, led the Knights to a 21-8 season and to their fourth-straight State University of New York Athletic Conference Championship game before falling to top-seeded SUNY New Paltz, in the final.

He also led the Knights to the second round of the 2016 NCAA Division III Tournament before falling to Stevens Institute of Technology, 66-60. SUNY Geneseo has advanced to the NCAA Tournament 19 times in program history.

Hemer earned the 2015-16 SUNYAC Coach of the Year award for the second-straight season.

The United States Marine Corps and the WBCA present the Pat Summitt Trophy, named for the legendary University of Tennessee coach, to the United States Marine Corps/WBCA National Coach of the Year annually in each of the six WBCA membership divisions (NCAA Divisions I, II and III; NAIA; junior/community college and high school).

The national coach of the year is selected from a list of finalists composed of the eight regional coaches of the year, who are chosen by vote of their peers in their respective WBCA membership regions.  They are:

      • Region 1 – Anthony Ewing, University of New England
      • Region 2 – Scott Hemer, State University of New York at Geneseo
      • Region 3 – Karin Harvey, Montclair State University
      • Region 4 – Janice Luck, Albright College
      • Region 5 – Stephanie Flamini, Guilford College
      • Region 6 – Brian Morehouse, Hope College
      • Region 7 – Nancy Fahey, Washington University (Mo.)
      • Region 8 – Michael Meek, George Fox University

In addition to the regional winners, the following NCAA Division III Final Four coaches are also included as at-large finalists.

At-large finalist:
      • Jeff Hans, Thomas More College
      • G.P. Gromacki, Amherst College
      • Carla Berube, Tufts University
      • Bob Amsberry, Wartburg College

The eight regional coaches of the year and the at-large finalists were announced earlier this week via social media.


About the WBCA:
Founded in 1981, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association promotes women's basketball by unifying coaches at all levels to develop a reputable identity for the sport and to foster and promote the development of the game in all of its aspects as a sport for women and girls. For more information about the WBCA, please visit

- WBCA -