Robyn Fralick named 2017 United States Marine Corps/WBCA National Division II Coach of the Year

ATLANTA (March 21, 2017) — Ashland University head coach Robyn Fralick is the 2017 United States Marine Corps/WBCA National NCAA Division II Coach of the Year, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association announced today.

Fralick will be presented with the Pat Summitt Trophy, named for the late legendary University of Tennessee coach and awarded annually to the United States Marine Corps/WBCA National Coach of the Year in each of the WBCA’s six membership divisions, during the 2017 WBCA Convention, which will be held in conjunction with the NCAA® Women’s Final Four® in Dallas.

"The WBCA is proud to name Robyn Fralick as the 2017 United States Marine Corps/WBCA NCAA Division II National Coach of the Year," said Danielle Donehew, executive director of the WBCA. "Robyn was selected as the winner by her peers after leading her team to an exceptional season. The WBCA recognizes and applauds her leadership example that can be seen in her student-athletes, institution and community.”

Fralick is in her second season as head coach of the Eagles. Combined, she has produced 65 wins with only two losses. Ashland was undefeated at 34-0 entering the NCAA Division II Elite Eight tournament.

Last season, her first with the Eagles, Fralick led the squad to a Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC) championship crown. She received GLIAC and Columbus Dispatch Ohio Women’s Basketball Coach of the Year honors.

“The Marine Corps proudly recognizes Robyn Fralick for her exemplary leadership and dedication to the young women of the Ashland University Eagles,” said Lieutenant Colonel Brian Proctor, assistant chief of staff, diversity, Marine Corps Recruiting Command. “Fralick demonstrates the core values upheld by those who hold the title Marine. The Marine Corps is honored to celebrate her fighting spirit, determination and excellence both as coach and mentor of the next generation of leaders.” 

The NCAA Division II national coach of the year is selected by a committee of coaches. This year’s finalists were:

  • Barbara Stevens, Bentley University
  • Jessica Strom, California University of Pennsylvania
  • Krystal Evans, Lincoln Memorial University
  • Robyn Fralick, Ashland University
  • Paul Honsinger, Eckerd College
  • Jim Turgeon, Colorado State University-Pueblo
  • Lane Lord, Pittsburg State University
  • Ryan McCarthy, University of Alaska-Anchorage

Visit to see a list of past recipients.

About the WBCA
Founded in 1981, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association is the professional association for coaches of women's and girls' basketball at all levels of competition. The WBCA offers educational resources that coaches need to help make themselves better leaders, teachers and mentors to their players; provides opportunities for coaches to connect with peers in the profession; serves as the unifying voice of a diverse community of coaches to the organizations that control the game; and celebrates those coaches, players and other individuals who excel each year and contribute to the advancement of the sport. Visit for more details about the Association.