Rich Ensor named 2016 WBCA Administrator of the Year

Rich Ensor named 2016 WBCA Administrator of the Year

ATLANTA (March 4, 2016) – Rich Ensor, commissioner of the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference (MAAC), is the recipient of the 2016 Women’s Basketball Coaches Association Administrator of the Year Award, the WBCA announced today.

The WBCA Administrator of the Year Award is presented annually to an administrator, athletic director, associate or assistant athletic director, or senior woman administrator who has excelled at encouraging the growth and quality of women’s basketball programs and women’s athletic programs overall.  The candidate also must have served as a professional role model for student-athletes.

"It is my pleasure to announce Rich as this year’s WBCA Administrator of the Year," said WBCA Executive Director Danielle Donehew. "Rich has been a steadfast ally to the WBCA and the sport of women's basketball throughout his career.  His service as a member of our board of directors and finance committee, coupled with his leadership as chair of our audit committee, continues to be incredibly valuable as our association moves forward.  Rich is a trusted teammate and advisor to our coaches and staff.  He is very deserving of both this year's Administrator of the Year award as well as the WBCA President’s Award which he received last year. We are incredibly thankful for Rich’s time and wise recommendations to strengthen the WBCA and lift the sport of women’s basketball."

Ensor became the third commissioner of the MAAC in August 1988. During his 27-year tenure, the MAAC has secured a stable membership base, expanded the number of championships conducted and developed an extensive marketing program. He has led the MAAC to focus its efforts to showcase member institutions in its annual men’s and women’s basketball tournament.

The MAAC has also been very aggressive under Ensor’s tenure in seeking out opportunities to host NCAA championships in various sports. In 2006, the MAAC co-hosted for the first time the NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Championship First and Second Rounds in Trenton, New Jersey. The 2009 NCAA women’s basketball East Regional was also hosted by the MAAC in Trenton. During the 2012-13 season the MAAC co-hosted the NCAA women’s basketball Bridgeport Regional and most recently co-hosted the 2015 NCAA women’s basketball Albany Regional.

Prior to serving as the commissioner of the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference, Ensor served as assistant professor in the sport management department at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst. He has also held the position of attorney, assistant athletic director of marketing and promotions at Seton Hall, assistant athletic director at St. Louis University, as well as sports information director and assistant director of the Recreation Life Center at Saint Peter’s College.

Ensor has been involved with numerous committees including the NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Committee, NCAA Division I Management Council, NCAA Administration Cabinet and NCAA I-AA Governance Committee to name a few.

Ensor currently represents the Collegiate Commissioner’s Association (CCA) on the WBCA Board of Directors and has been a strong advocate for the WBCA.

Ensor graduated from Saint Peter’s University in 1975 and received a master’s degree in sports management with honors from the University of Massachusetts, Amherst. Ensor later attended Seton Hall University’s School of Law. He graduated in 1987 and was admitted to the New Jersey Bar in June of that year.

Past recipients of the WBCA Administrator of the Year Award include: Chris Dawson, Pac-12 Conference (2015); Connie Hurlbut, Western Athletic Conference (2014); Carol Gould, University of California – Berkeley (2013); Pam Wettig, University of Denver (2012), Theresa Wenzel, Georgia Tech (2011); Janna Blais, Northwestern University (2010); Carolyn Campbell-McGovern, Ivy League (2009); Marianne Vydra, Oregon State University (2008), Carol Sprague, University of Pittsburgh (2007); Jane Meyer, University of Iowa (2006), Debbie Richardson, Campbell University (2005); Dr. M. Dianne Murphy, University of Denver (2004); Cary Groth, Northern Illinois University (2003); Marita Hynes, University of Oklahoma(2002); Jane Meier, Northern Kentucky (2001); Bernadette McGlade, ACC (2000); Don DiJulia, St. Joseph's (Pa.) University (1999); Jeanne Lenti Ponsetto, DePaul University (1998); Lynn Dorn, North Dakota State University (1997); Dr. Mary Jo Wynn, Southwest Missouri State University (1996); Ellen Perry, Pennsylvania State University (1995); Lynn Barry, USA Basketball (1994); the late Jeannine McHaney, Texas Tech University (1993); Dr. Christine Grant, University of Iowa (1992); Dr. James Jarrett, Old Dominion University (1991); Dr. Judith Holland, UCLA (1990); Dr. Donna Lopiano, University of Texas (1989); Dr. Joyce Wong, University of Rochester (1988); Joan Cronan, University of Tennessee (1987); Nora Lynn Finch, North Carolina State University (1987); Dr. Charlotte West, Southern Illinois University (1987).


About the WBCA:
Founded in 1981, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association promotes women's basketball by unifying coaches at all levels to develop a reputable identity for the sport and to foster and promote the development of the game in all of its aspects as a sport for women and girls. For more information about the WBCA, please visit