ATLANTA (March 12, 2019) – Brianna King of the University of Montana Western is the 2019 WBCA NAIA Player of the Year and headlines the 2019 WBCA NAIA Coaches’ All-America team, announced today by the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association.

King helped lead the Bulldogs to a 25-4 record this season. She averaged 22.2 points per game and was named the Frontier Conference Player of the Week six times. Last season she was a first team NAIA All-American and led the Bulldogs to their first NAIA Tournament semifinals appearance. She set a school record by scoring 40 points in an NAIA Tournament quarterfinals game and ended the season sixth in the nation in scoring. King was named Frontier Conference Player of the Year and Frontier Conference Newcomer of the Year after transferring to UMW following two seasons at Community Colleges of Spokane.

The WBCA presents the Player of the Year award annually to the top player in five of the six WBCA membership divisions (NCAA Divisions II, and III, NAIA, two-year college and high school). The Player of the Year and the 10-member Coaches’ All-America team in each division are selected by a committee of WBCA member coaches in that division. The Wade Trophy is presented to the best player in NCAA Division I.

"The WBCA is pleased to name Brianna King as the 2019 WBCA NAIA Player of the Year,"” said Danielle Donehew, executive director of the WBCA. “Brianna has played an integral role in guiding her team to an extraordinary season and is very deserving of this distinguished honor. The WBCA applauds Brianna for her hard work, dedication and contributions to the game.”

Here are the 2019 WBCA NCAA NAIA Coaches’ All-Americans:



Kendall Bradbury

Taylor University

Kelsie Cleeton

College of The Ozarks

Bailey Cummins

Shawnee State University

Vivian Holcomb

University of Science & Arts of Oklahoma

Brianna King

University of Montana Western

Philomena Lammers

Concordia University (Nebraska)

Abby Selzer

Oklahoma City University

Stephanie Soares

The Master's University

Myah Taylor

Bethel University (Tennessee)

Reagan Turner

Lindsey Wilson College

“The 10 members of the 2019 WBCA NAIA Coaches’ All-America Team are well deserving of this recognition, and the WBCA congratulates them for their accomplishments this season,” said Danielle Donehew, executive director of the WBCA. “These young women have worked to elevate themselves and their teams to an elite level and through their exceptional talents on the basketball court, they have lifted the women’s game.”

Here are the student-athletes who received 2019 WBCA NCAA NAIA Coaches’ All-America honorable mention:



Jordan Alford

Columbia College (Missouri)

Kaila Anthony

Loyola University

Kaitlin Aylward

University of St. Francis

Tianna Ayulo

Johnson & Wales University

Destinee Bowie

Menlo College

Nicole Buckingham

Lawrence Technological University

Baily Cameron

John Brown University

Sarah Carr

Dakota Wesleyan University

Jaida Carter

University of Rio Grande

Kynedi Cheeseman

Dakota Wesleyan University

Courtney Christmas

Arizona Christian University

Kassidy De Jong

Northwestern College

Hannah Dean

Carroll College

Chanel Fanter

Saint Xavier University

Brianna Gipson

College of Coastal Georgia

J'Nayah Hall

Lindsey Wilson College

Jas Hill

Xavier University

Kendall Knapke

Indiana Institute of Technology

Madison Stewart

Campbellsville University

Sandrea Sylman

Freed-Hardeman University

About the WBCA
Founded in 1981, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association is the professional association for coaches of women's and girls' basketball at all levels of competition. The WBCA offers educational resources that coaches need to help make themselves better leaders, teachers and mentors to their players; provides opportunities for coaches to connect with peers in the profession; serves as the unifying voice of a diverse community of coaches to the organizations that control the game; and celebrates those coaches, players and other individuals who excel each year and contribute to the advancement of the sport. Visit for more details about the Association.