NC State’s Wes Moore named 2021 United States Marine Corps/WBCA NCAA Division I National Coach of the Year

ATLANTA (March 24, 2021) — North Carolina State University head coach Wes Moore has been named the 2021 United States Marine Corps/WBCA NCAA Division I National Coach of the Year, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association announced today.

Moore will receive the Pat Summitt Trophy, named for the late legendary University of Tennessee coach and awarded annually to the national coaches of the year in each of the WBCA’s six membership divisions.

“The WBCA is proud to announce Wes Moore as the 2021 recipient of the Pat Summitt Trophy presented to the United States Marine Corps/WBCA NCAA Division I National Coach of the Year,” said WBCA Executive Director Danielle M. Donehew. “We also congratulate the other head coaches who were selected by their peers as finalists for this prestigious award.

 “Respected and well-liked by his peers, Wes is a winner. He was a college basketball player and has continued his love of the game through coaching. He has won at every NCAA level throughout his very successful career. He is a talented teacher who pushes his student-athletes to realize their full potential in basketball, the classroom and life.

“Wes was chosen for this honor after leading his team to an exceptional season,” said Donehew. “The WBCA recognizes and applauds his leadership example that can be seen in his student-athletes, institution and community.”

In his eighth season as head coach of the Wolfpack, Moore has directed NC State to a 22-2 record and a berth in the Sweet 16 round of the 2021 NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Championship. The Wolfpack's No. 1 seed in this year's NCAA Championship (the Mercado Region) is the first in program history. Moore and the Wolfpack won their second straight ACC Tournament championship and their sixth overall. Moore was also named ACC Coach of the Year after leading his team to a 17-2 regular-season record and a 12-2 mark against league opponents. His 748 career wins ranks eighth among active NCAA Division I coaches.

“The United States Marines Corps extends its congratulations to the 2021 winners of the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association National Coach of the Year Awards,” said Colonel Heather J. Cotoia (Commanding Officer, 4th Marine Corps District). “This award is a testament to your dedication and commitment to your profession and the young Americans under your charge. Again, congratulations on your achievements this season, and on your selection as the WBCA National Coaches of the Year.”

The United States Marine Corps/WBCA NCAA Division I National Coach of the Year is selected by a committee of coaches. This year’s finalists were:



Amaka Agugua-Hamilton

Missouri State University

Adia Barnes

University of Arizona

Cori Close

University of California, Los Angeles

Jose Fernandez

University of South Florida

Brenda Frese

University of Maryland

Wes Moore

North Carolina State University

Kim Mulkey

Baylor University

Dawn Staley

University of South Carolina

Joni Taylor

University of Georgia

Jeff Walz

University of Louisville

Visit to see a list of past recipients.

About the WBCA
Founded in 1981, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association is the professional association for coaches of women's and girls' basketball at all levels of competition. The WBCA offers educational resources that coaches need to help make themselves better leaders, teachers and mentors to their players; provides opportunities for coaches to connect with peers in the profession; serves as the unifying voice of a diverse community of coaches to the organizations that control the game; and celebrates those coaches, players and other individuals who excel each year and contribute to the advancement of the sport. Visit for more details about the association.

# # #