Home » Awards » Mel Greenberg Media Award

Mel Greenberg Media Award

The Mel Greenberg Media Award recognizes a media, marketing or sports communications professional who has best displayed a commitment to women’s basketball and to advancing the role of the media in promoting the women’s game. The award is named in honor of longtime Philadelphia Inquirer sportswriter Mel Greenberg, its first recipient, who started The Associated Press Top 25 college women’s basketball poll.

Click below to submit your nomination. Login is required.



All writers, commentators, reporters, radio announcers, sports communications personnel, promotions/marketing personnel and photographers are eligible for this award.

  • Work must have had a positive impact on the growth and national/regional exposure of the sport of women’s basketball.
  • Must have been involved in the media exposure of the sport of women’s basketball for a minimum of five years.
  • Should be a media ambassador for the women’s game.

All college head coaches who are WBCA members may nominate any individual who satisfies the above criteria.  Nominations must be submitted online. A nomination must include a statement on why the nominee is deserving of the award. Members of the Mel Greenberg Media Award Selection Committee may also submit names of individuals they feel are worthy of being nominated for this award.


A selection committee composed of all former Mel Greenberg Media Award recipients review all nominees and vote for the recipient. Nominations of individuals who are not selected as the recipient remain active for three years.

Past Recipients

2024 — Patricia Lowry, ESPN
2023 — Cheryl Coward, Hoopfeed.com (National); Danny Davis, University of Texas (Community)
2022 — Holly Rowe, ESPN (National); Charles Hallman, Minnesota Spokesman-Recorder (Community)
2021 — LaChina Robinson, ESPN
2020 — Maria M. Cornelius, Moxley Carmichael
2019 — Michelle Smith-McDonald, Alameda County (California) Office of Education
2018 — Doug Feinberg, The Associate Press
2017 — Ken Neal, Fox Sports South, Fox Sports Southeast and Raycom Sports
2016 — Brenda VanLengen, Women’s Basketball Analyst
2015 — Graham Hays, ESPNW
2014 — Mary Jo Haverbeck (deceased), Penn State SID
2013 — Vicki Friedman, Freelance Writer
2012 — Mike Carmin, Lafayette Journal and Courier
2011 — Carol Stiff, ESPN
2010 — Dick Patrick, USA TODAY
2009 — Chuck Schoffner, Associated Press
2008 — Dan Fleser, Knoxville News-Sentinel
2007 — Debbie Antonelli, Women’s Basketball Analyst
2006 — Bill Jauss, Chicago Tribune
2005 — Dave Loane, University of Illinois
2004 — Tamara Flarup, University of Wisconsin-Madison
2003 — Mechelle Voepel, Kansas City Star, ESPN
2002 — Bob Kenny, Courier Post (Retired)
2001 — Robin Roberts
2000 — Vic Dorr, Richmond Times-Dispatch
1999 — Ann Meyers-Drysdale
1998 — Mary Garber, Winston-Salem Journal
1997 — Mitch Parkinson (deceased), Southern Illinois University
1996 — Debby Jennings, University of Tennessee
1995 — Mike Augustin (deceased), St. Paul Pioneer Press
1994 — Mimi Griffin, ESPN
1993 — Jane Burns, Des Moines Register
1992 — Debbie Becker, USA TODAY
1991 — Mel Greenberg, Philadelphia Inquirer