Home » Awards » Maggie Dixon Rookie Coach of the Year

Maggie Dixon Rookie Coach of the Year

The Spalding Maggie Dixon NCAA Division I Rookie Coach of the Year award is named in honor of the late Maggie Dixon, former Army head coach, whose success during her inaugural year at the Black Knights’ helm was remarkable. Dixon was named 2006 Patriot League Coach of the Year after leading Army to the conference title and its first-ever NCAA Division I tournament appearance. Dixon passed away on April 6, 2006, just a few weeks following the Black Knights’ appearance in the NCAA Tournament.

The spirit of Maggie Dixon lives on through this award whose recipients, in their first year as an NCAA Division I head coach, have demonstrated on-court success and enriched the lives of those around them. The criteria in order of priority are:

  • Must be a current NCAA Division I head coach in his/her rookie season (“interim” head coach does not qualify).
  • Qualification/advancement in the NCAA Tournament, WBIT or WNIT.
  • Qualification/advancement in conference tournament.
  • Success in the conference during the regular season.
  • Team success during the regular season.
  • Team improvement from the previous season.
  • Regular-season conference record.
  • Awards/honors.

A WBCA member who is in their first season as a head coach at an NCAA Division I institution is eligible for this award. A head coach whose institution has transitioned to NCAA Division I will not qualify for this award if it is not their first year as a head coach at that institution. A head coach/assistant coach who has coached at the professional level and then returns to the collegiate level is NOT eligible for this award. An “interim” head coach does not qualify.

There is no formal nomination process. All NCAA Division I conference communications directors are contacted and asked to submit to the WBCA the names, awards and other relevant news regarding all rookie coaches within their respective conferences.


The NCAA Division I Awards Committee selects the Spalding Maggie Dixon NCAA Division I Rookie Coach of the Year when it meets in conjunction with the WBCA Convention.

Past Recipients

2024 — Kim Caldwell, Marshall
2023 — Shawn Poppie, Chattanooga
2022 — Kelly Rae Finley, Florida
2021 — Kyra Elzy, Kentucky
2020 — Amaka “Mox” Agugua-Hamilton, Missouri State
2019 — Carlos Funchess, Southern
2018 — Bart Brooks, Belmont
2017 — Shauna Green, Dayton
2016 — Joni Taylor, Georgia
2015 — Lisa Fortier, Gonzaga
2014 — Billi Godsey, Iona
2013 — Holly Warlick, Tennessee
2012 — Jennifer Hoover, High Point
2011 — Stephanie Glance, Illinois State
2010 — Teresa Weatherspoon, Louisiana Tech
2009 — Kelly Packard, Ball State
2008 — Jeff Walz, Louisville
2007 — Krista Kilburn-Steveskey, Hofstra