Home » Awards » Carol Eckman Integrity in Coaching Award

Carol Eckman Integrity in Coaching Award

The late Carol Eckman is regarded as the mother of the college women’s basketball national championship. She organized the first college women’s basketball championship tournament at West Chester State College in 1969. Eckman continued to garner recognition and support for the women’s game until her death in 1985. In honor of her memory, the WBCA presents the Carol Eckman Integrity in Coaching Award each year to a member collegiate coach who best reflects Eckman’s character traits of courage, ethical behavior, honesty, sportsmanship and commitment to the student-athlete.

Click below to submit your nomination. Login is required.



Each WBCA member coach (head and assistant) at a four-year or two-year collegiate institution is eligible for the award.


The nominee’s character and conduct must exemplify Eckman’s character traits of courage, ethical behavior, honesty, sportsmanship and commitment to the student-athlete.


Any WBCA collegiate member coach may nominate online a collegiate member coach who they believe satisfies the criteria. A nomination consists of a list of coaching positions held, any outstanding contributions to the profession off the court, an explanation of what initiative the nominee has taken to promote women’s basketball, and an essay on why the nominee should be considered for the Carol Eckman Integrity in Coaching Award.


The selection committee is composed of the 18 coaches who are members of the WBCA Board of Directors. It selects each year’s recipient from the nominations received. Nominations remain active for three years.

Past Honorees

2024 — Cori Close, UCLA
2023 — Coquese Washington, Rutgers
2022 — Tricia Cullop, Toledo
2021 — Dixie Jeffers, Capital
2020 — Harry Perretta, Villanova
2019 — Agnus Berenato, Kennesaw State
2018 — Tara VanDerveer, Stanford
2017 — Naomi Graves, Springfield
2016 — Ginger Colvin, Campbellsville
2015 — Lisa Bluder, Iowa
2014 — Jane Albright, Nevada
2013 — Jan Ross, Oklahoma
2012 — Sue Ramsey, Ashland
2011 — Joanne Boyle, California
2010 — Kevin Cook, Gallaudet
2009 — Muffet McGraw, Notre Dame
2008 — Doug Bruno, DePaul
2007 — Theresa Grentz, Illinois
2006 — Gail Goestenkors, Duke
2005 — Bonnie Henrickson, Kansas
2004 — Deirdre Kane, West Chester
2003 — Marsha Sharp, Texas Tech
2002 — Barbara Stevens, Bentley
2001 — Juliene B. Simpson, East Stroudsburg
2000 — Kathy Delaney-Smith, Harvard
1999 — Susan Summons, Miami-Dade CC
1998 — Kay James, Southern Mississippi
1997 — Amy Ruley, North Dakota State
1996 — Joann Rutherford, Missouri
1995 — Ceal Barry, Colorado
1994 — Sue Gunter, LSU
1993 — C. Vivian Stringer, Iowa
1992 — Jill Hutchison, Illinois State
1991 — Marian Washington, Kansas
1990 — Dr. Maryalice Jeremiah, Cal State Fullerton
1989 — Linda Hill-MacDonald, Minnesota
1988 — Kay Yow, NC State
1987 — Jody Conradt, Texas
1986 — Laura Mapp, Bridgewater