Home » Awards » Freshman of the Year

Freshman of the Year

The WBCA NCAA Division I Freshman of the Year presented by adidas honors the best freshman NCAA Division I women’s basketball player.

Click below to submit your nomination. Login is required.



Any NCAA Division I player who is named as their conference Freshman of the Year is eligible for this award. A freshman player is defined as a first-year player that is a freshman or has freshman eligibility status due to redshirt. Conferences that do not select a Freshman of the Year may submit a nominee to represent their conference that meets these eligibility requirements. 

  • Must be a conference Freshman of the Year (NCAA Division I only).
  • Current-season game-by-game statistics.

Once the conferences select their Freshman of the Year winners, the WBCA will collect all criteria listed above from conference communications staff. A conference that does not select a Freshman of the Year will have the opportunity to submit a nominee in accordance with the eligibility above.


The recipient is selected from conference freshman of the year nominees by the selection committee.

Past Recipients

2024 — JuJu Watkins, Southern California
2023 — Ta’Niya Latson, Florida State
2022 — Aneesah Morrow, DePaul
2021 — Paige Bueckers, Connecticut; Caitlin Clark, Iowa
2020 — Aliyah Boston, South Carolina
2019 — Rhyne Howard, Kentucky
2018 — Chennedy Carter, Texas A&M
2017 — Destiny Slocum, Maryland