Caitlin Clark wins second Wade Trophy, headlines 2024 WBCA NCAA Division I Coaches’ All-America team

CLEVELAND (April 4, 2024) – Caitlin Clark of the University of Iowa is the 2024 Wade Trophy winner and headlines the 2024 WBCA NCAA Division I Coaches’ All-America team, announced today by the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association. University of Arkansas head coach Mike Neighbors, chair of the WBCA NCAA Division I Awards Committee, presented the Wade Trophy to Clark here earlier today.

Now in its 47th year, the prestigious Wade Trophy is the oldest national player of the year award in college women’s basketball. The award is named in honor of the late, legendary Delta State University head coach Lily Margaret Wade, who won three consecutive national championships with the Lady Statesmen. The Wade Trophy is presented annually to the WBCA’s NCAA Division I Player of the Year.

Clark, who also won the 2023 Wade Trophy, joins Nancy Lieberman, Old Dominion (1979, 1980); Seimone Augustus (2005, 2006), LSU; Brittney Griner (2012, 2013), Baylor; Breanna Stewart (2015, 2016), Connecticut; and Sabrina Ionescu (2019, 2020), Oregon, as two-time winners of the award. Maya Moore (2009, 2010, 2011), Connecticut, is the only player to win the Wade Trophy three times.

Clark is the all-time leading scorer in major college women’s and men’s basketball with 3,900 points, eclipsing earlier this season previous women’s records held by Kelsey Plum (Washington/NCAA) and Lynette Woodard (Kansas/AIAW), and the men’s record held by Pete Maravich (LSU).

“On behalf of the WBCA, and for the second straight year, I am pleased to present women’s basketball’s highest player honor, the Wade Trophy, to Caitlin Clark,” said Donehew. “Caitlin, a four-time WBCA Coaches’ All-American who also was the 2021 WBCA NCAA Division I Co-Freshman of the Year, is a generational talent. The ‘Caitlin Clark effect’ has helped fill arenas across the country, boosted television ratings to record highs, and inspired a whole new generation of young girls to pick up a basketball and play the game. The many records she set in her collegiate career may one day be broken, but the extraordinary impact she has had on our sport will be everlasting.”

The Coaches’ All-America team is composed of the 10 best players in NCAA Division I regardless of position as chosen by the division’s head coaches.

Here are the 2024 WBCA NCAA Division I Coaches’ All-Americans:

Madison BookerUniversity of Texas
Cameron BrinkStanford University
Paige BueckersUniversity of Connecticut
Kamilla CardosoUniversity of South Carolina
Caitlin ClarkUniversity of Iowa
Aaliyah EdwardsUniversity of Connecticut
Hannah HidalgoUniversity of Notre Dame
Elizabeth KitleyVirginia Tech
Angel ReeseLouisiana State University
JuJu WatkinsUniversity of Southern California

Here are the 42 student-athletes who received 2024 WBCA NCAA Division I Coaches’ All-America honorable mention:

Georgia AmooreVirginia Tech 
Raegan BeersOregon State University 
Lauren BettsUniversity of California, Los Angeles 
Jessika CarterMississippi State University 
Kaitlyn ChenPrinceton University 
Delanie CrawfordUniversity of Tulsa 
Audi CrooksIowa State University 
Yvonne EjimGonzaga University 
Dyaisha FairSyracuse University 
Lauren GustinBrigham Young University 
McKenna HofschildColorado State University 
Mackenzie HolmesIndiana University 
Abbey HsuColumbia University 
Kiki IriafenStanford University 
Rickea JacksonUniversity of Tennessee 
Taiyanna JacksonUniversity of Kansas 
Aziaha JamesNorth Carolina State University 
Emani JeffersonFlorida Gulf Coast University 
Deja KellyUniversity of North Carolina 
Ta’Niya LatsonFlorida State University 
Ayoka LeeKansas State University 
Cotie McMahonOhio State University 
Aneesah MorrowLouisiana State University 
Lucy OlsenVillanova University 
Charisma OsborneUniversity of California, Los Angeles 
Te-Hina PaopaoUniversity of South Carolina 
Laila PheliaUniversity of Michigan 
Alissa PiliUniversity of Utah 
Temira PoindexterUniversity of Tulsa 
JJ QuinerlyWest Virginia University 
Kiki RiceUniversity of California, Los Angeles 
Saniya RiversNorth Carolina State University 
Sara ScaliaIndiana University 
Honesty Scott-GraysonAuburn University 
Shyanne SellersUniversity of Maryland 
Jacy SheldonOhio State University 
Jaylyn SherrodUniversity of Colorado 
Skylar VannUniversity of Oklahoma 
Payton VerhulstUniversity of Oklahoma 
Chellia WatsonUniversity of Buffalo 
Maddy WestbeldUniversity of Notre Dame 
Desi-Rae YoungUniversity of Nevada, Las Vegas 

About the WBCA
The Women’s Basketball Coaches Association is the professional association for coaches of women’s and girls’ basketball at all levels of competition. Founded in 1981, the WBCA offers educational resources that coaches need to help make themselves better leaders, teachers and mentors to their players; provides opportunities for coaches to connect with peers in the profession; serves as the unifying voice of a diverse community of coaches to the organizations that control the game; and celebrates those coaches, players and other individuals who excel each year and contribute to the advancement of the sport. Visit for more details about the association.

# # #