

PRESS RELEASE

Donehew, Staley appointed to NCAA DI Women's Basketball Oversight Committee

ATLANTA (April 17, 2015) - Women's Basketball Coaches Association Executive Director Danielle M. Donehew and University of South Carolina head coach Dawn Staley have been appointed to positions on the newly formed NCAA Division I Women's Basketball Oversight Committee, the NCAA announced today.

The NCAA Division I Council, which is responsible for the day-to-day decision-making in the new Division I governance structure, made both appointments while meeting this week in Indianapolis to finalize appointments in the new Council sub-structure.

The Women's Basketball Oversight Committee will oversee all aspects of the sport on the Division I level, including oversight of the NCAA Division I Women's Basketball Committee, which administers the NCAA Division I Women's Basketball Championship, and the NCAA Division I Women's Basketball Rules Committee regarding playing rules.

Donehew will represent the WBCA membership as a non-voting committee member. Staley, who was selected from a pool of head coaches recommended to the Council by the 32 NCAA Division I conference offices, will represent active NCAA Division I coaches as a voting member of the committee.

"I am honored and excited by the opportunity to represent the WBCA membership on the NCAA Division I Women's Basketball Oversight Committee," said Donehew. "What happens in the Division I game sets the tone for the sport on all levels of competition in educational athletics – from scholastic to community college to NAIA to all three NCAA divisions – so, it is extremely important that our members at each of these levels have a voice on the committee.

"I am also pleased that Dawn, an active Division I head coach, has been appointed to the Oversight Committee to provide her peers with a voice and a vote on matters that directly affect the game and their individual programs."

Women's basketball is one of only three sports to have its own oversight committee in the new NCAA Division I governance sub-structure. Football and men's basketball are the other two.

Joining Staley on the committee as voting members are Jean Lenti Ponsetto, athletics director, DePaul University (chair); Warde Manuel, athletics director, University of Connecticut; Connie Hurlbut, deputy commissioner, Western Athletic Conference; Bernadette McGlade, commissioner, Atlantic 10 Conference; Kevin Anderson, athletics director, University of Maryland, College Park; Heather Gores, senior associate

athletics director/senior woman administrator, Gonzaga University; Janice Ruggiero, senior associate athletics director/senior woman administrator, University of New Mexico; Julio Freire, athletics director, University of Tennessee at Martin; Nora Lynn Finch, senior associate commissioner, Atlantic Coast Conference; and Dru Hancock; senior associate commissioner, Big 12 Conference. The 12th voting member – a student–athlete – is yet to be named.

Joining Donehew as a non-voting member is Chris Dawson, associate commissioner, Pac-12 Conference, and chair of the NCAA Division I Women's Basketball Committee. A faculty athletic representative yet to be named will also serve as a non-voting member.

Voting committee members will receive initial terms of service of two, three or four years to ensure that their terms do not expire in the same year.

Click <u>here</u> to read the NCAA news release for more information.

###

About the WBCA:

Founded in 1981, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association promotes women's basketball by unifying coaches at all levels to develop a reputable identity for the sport and to foster and promote the development of the game as a sport for women and girls. For more information on the WBCA, please visit wbca.org.