

PRESS RELEASE

ESPNW writer Graham Hays wins 2015 WBCA Mel Greenberg Media Award

ATLANTA (March 10, 2015) - Graham Hays, an ESPNW writer, is the winner of the 2015 Women's Basketball Coaches Association's (WBCA) Mel Greenberg Media Award, the WBCA announced today.

Named after Mel Greenberg, the Philadelphia Inquirer sportswriter who founded the *Associated Press* Top 25 women's basketball poll, the WBCA's Mel Greenberg Media Award is presented annually to a member of the media who has best displayed a commitment to women's basketball and to advancing the role of the media in the women's game. Selected by past recipients of the award, the candidate must have had a positive impact on the growth and national or regional exposure of the sport, been involved in the media ambassador for the women's game. Greenberg, the pre-eminent name in women's basketball coverage, was named the winner of the inaugural award in 1991.

"I am pleased to announce Graham Hays as this year's recipient of the WBCA Mel Greenberg Media Award," said WBCA Executive Director Danielle Donehew. "Graham has been an exceptional advocate for women's basketball and has worked diligently to preserve, promote, and protect the priceless stories that make up our game's historical record. The WBCA salutes Graham for his contribution of time and talent to advance women's basketball."

Hays studied government history at Cornell University before moving on to work fulltime for ESPN in 1999. The Westfield, Indiana native has worked extensively to promote the game of women's basketball through immense dedication and feature stories. Hays also covers women's soccer and softball for ESPNW.

Hays will be formally recognized during the WBCA Awards Show, which will be heldat 5:30 p.m. ET Monday, April 6, in the Grand Ballroom at the Tampa Marriott Waterside. This event is part of the WBCA National Convention and is held in conjunction with the NCAA® Women's Final Four® in Tampa Bay.

As the 25th winner of the award, Hays joins a distinguished list of recipients, including: Mary Jo Haverbeck, Penn State University (2014); Vicki Friedman, Freelance Writer (2013); Mike Carmin, Lafayette (Ind.) Journal and Courier (2012); Carol Stiff, *ESPN (2011);* Dick Patrick, *USA Today* (2010); Chuck Schoffner, Associated Press (2009); Dan Fleser, *Knoxville News–Sentinel* (2008); Debbie Antonelli, CSTV (2007); Bill Jauss, *Chicago Tribune* (2006); Dave Loane, University of Illinois (2005); Tam Flarup, University of Wisconsin–Madison (2004); Mechelle Voepel, *Kansas City Star/ESPN* (2003); Bob Kenney, *Courier Post* (2002); Robin Roberts, *ABC News* (2001); Vic Dorr, *Richmond Times–Dispatch* (2000); Ann Meyers Drysdale, *ESPN* (1999); Mary Garber, *Winston–Salem Journal* (1998); the late Mitch Parkinson, Southern Illinois University (1997); Debby Jennings, University of Tennessee (1996); the late Mike Augustin, *St. Paul Pioneer Press* (1995); Mimi Griffin, MSG Promotions/ESPN (1994); Jane Burns, *Des Moines Register* (1993); Debbie Becker, *USA TODAY* (1992); and Mel Greenberg, *Philadelphia Inquirer* (1991).

###

About the WBCA:

Founded in 1981, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association promotes women's basketball by unifying coaches at all levels to develop a reputable identity for the sport and to foster and promote the development of the game as a sport for women and girls. For more information on the WBCA, please visit wbca.org.

-WBCA-