WBCA WOMEN'S BASKETBALL CONCMES ASSOCIATION

PRESS RELEASE

WBCA announces finalists for 2014 Wade Trophy

ATLANTA (March 27, 2014) - The Wade Trophy Committee, along with the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) and SHAPE America, announced today the 12 finalists in contention for The Wade Trophy, which is presented annually to the nation's most outstanding NCAA® Division I women's basketball player.

The candidates were selected by a vote of committee members consisting of leading basketball coaches, journalists and administrators. The committee will select the winner of The Wade Trophy from among these 12 finalists who also are named to the 10-member WBCA NCAA Division I Coaches' All-America Team when it is chosen in April. The winner will be announced during the WBCA Awards Show, which will be held at 5:30 p.m. CT Monday, April 7, in the Omni Nashville Hotel's Broadway Ballroom. The event is part of the WBCA National Convention and is held in conjunction with the NCAA® Women's Final Four®.

"The Wade Trophy is one of the most exciting awards to be a part of, because these 12 finalists are the games' most elite players and are truly exciting to watch," said WBCA CEO Beth Bass. "This trophy is the equivalent to the Heisman Trophy, which is given out annually in collegiate football. These finalists play immense roles as members of their respective institutions' women's basketball programs and one of them will be honored with our sport's most prestigious award."

The Wade Trophy Finalists are as follows:

Name	Institution	Year	Position
Stefanie Dolson	University of Connecticut	Senior	Center
Bria Hartley	University of Connecticut	Senior	Guard
Jordan Hooper	University of Nebraska	Senior	Forward
Natasha Howard	Florida State University	Senior	Forward
Jewell Loyd	University of Notre Dame	Sophomore	Guard
Maggie Lucas	Penn State University	Senior	Guard
Kayla McBride	University of Notre Dame	Senior	Guard
Tiffany Mitchell	University of South Carolina	Sophomore	Guard
Chiney Ogwumike	Stanford University	Senior	Forward
Odyssey Sims	Baylor University	Senior	Guard
Breanna Stewart	University of Connecticut	Sophomore	Forward
Alyssa Thomas	University of Maryland	Senior	Forward

The Wade Trophy, now in its 37th year, is named after the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University coach, Lily Margaret Wade. This most prestigious award, regarded as "The Heisman of Women's Basketball", debuted in 1978 as the first-ever women's national player of the year award in college basketball.

Last year, Baylor's Brittney Griner received the prestigious award for the second year in a row. Connecticut's Maya Moore was the first student-athlete to win the award three consecutive years (2009, 2010, 2011). The first recipient of the Wade Trophy was Carol Blazejowski of Montclair State in 1978. Other Wade Trophy/NCAA Division I Player of the Year recipients include many WNBA standouts such as Teresa Weatherspoon (1988), DeLisha Milton-Jones (1997), Candace Parker (2007), Ticha Penicheiro (1998), Sue Bird (2002) and Diana Taurasi (2003).

About SHAPE America:

The vision of the Society of Health and Physical Educators (SHAPE America) is "Healthy People – Physically Educated and Physically Active!" Headquartered in Reston, VA, 25 miles west of Washington, DC, SHAPE America is the largest organization of professionals involved in physical education, physical activity and school health—all specialties related to achieving an active, healthy lifestyle. Founded in 1885, its mission is to advance professional practice and promote research related to health and physical education, physical activity, dance and sport by providing its members with a comprehensive and coordinated array of resources, support and programs to help practitioners improve their skills to further the health and well–being of the American public. For more information, visit www.shapeamerica.org.

About the WBCA:

Founded in 1981, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association promotes women's basketball by unifying coaches at all levels to develop a reputable identity for the sport and to foster and promote the development of the game as a sport for women and girls.