

PRESS RELEASE

WBCA announces selections to 2012–13 executive committee, board of directors

ATLANTA (May 16, 2012) – The Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) announced today those individuals who have been elected or appointed to positions on the organization's executive committee and board of directors for the 2012–13 academic year.

Beth Burns, head coach at San Diego State University, has been elected to remain as secretary on the board's executive committee. Formerly a Division I at-large representative on the board of directors, Burns last year was appointed as secretary to fill the one year remaining on the term of University of Notre Dame associate head coach Carol Owens who became the Black Coaches and Administrators representative on the board.

In other election results:

- Moravian College head coach Mary Beth Spirk was re-elected to her position as an NCAA Division III at-large representative on the board of directors.
- Gonzaga University head coach Kelly Graves was elected to remain as the NCAA Division I West representative on the board of directors. Graves was appointed to the position last year when it was vacated by Joanna Boyle, who left the University of California, Berkeley, for the University of Virginia.
- North Carolina State University head coach Kellie Harper, former Valparaiso University assistant coach Kelly Komara, Gonzaga University assistant coach Lisa Mispley Fortier, Mississippi State University head coach Vic Schaefer and University of South Carolina head coach Dawn Staley were elected to first terms on the board of directors. Harper will represent NCAA Division I East coaches, Komara will represent NCAA Division I Midwest coaches, Mispley Fortier will represent assistant coaches, Schaefer will represent male coaches, and Staley will represent NCAA Division I coaches at large.

WBCA President Charli Turner Thorne, head coach at Arizona State University, also filled the following three positions on the board of directors by appointment:

• University of Kentucky head coach Matthew Mitchell was appointed to replace Curt Miller as the NCAA Division I Mideast representative. Miller, formerly the head coach at Bowling Green State University, was no longer eligible to serve in the position after accepting the head coaching position at Indiana University.

- Emory University head coach Christy Thomaskutty was appointed as the NCAA Division III legislative chair. Thomaskutty succeeds Worchester State University head coach Karen Tessmer, who was not eligible for re-appointment to the position after serving six years.
- Seward County Community College (Liberal, Kan.) head coach Toby Wynn was appointed to replace David Lane as the junior/community college representative. Lane, formerly the head coach at Chipola College (Marianna, Fla.), was no longer eligible to serve in the position after accepting an assistant coach position at Drake University.

The WBCA Board of Directors develops policies, procedures and regulations for the operation of the organization. They also monitor the organization's financial health, programs and overall performance and provide the chief executive officer with the resources to meet the needs of those the organization serves.

All terms of service begin Aug. 1, or on the date of the board of directors' summer meeting, whichever comes first.

Here is the complete roster for the 2012–13 WBCA Board of Directors:

Executive Committee

Charli Turner Thorne, Head Coach, Arizona State, President Sue Semrau, Head Coach, Florida State, Vice President Beth Burns, Head Coach, San Diego State, Secretary Coquese Washington, Head Coach, Penn State, Treasurer Connie Hurlbut, Senior Associate Commissioner, Western Athletic Conference, Committee on Basketball Issues Chair, Geno Auriemma, Head Coach, Connecticut, Past President Carol Owens, Associate Coach, Notre Dame, Black Coaches & Administrators

Board of Directors

Amanda Butler, Head Coach, Florida, Division I At-Large Claudette Charney, Head Coach, Hillsdale College, Division II Legislative Carmen Dolfo, Head Coach, Western Washington, Division II Group II Rich Ensor, Commissioner, Metro Atlantic Conference, Conference Commissioners Kelly Graves, Head Coach, Gonzaga, Division I West Kellie Harper, Head Coach, North Carolina State, Division I East Aaron Johnston, Head Coach, South Dakota State, Division I Midwest Mary Klinger, Head Coach, Rutgers Preparatory School, High School Patricia Manning, Head Coach, Williams College, Division III At-Large Joanne P. McCallie, Head Coach, Duke, Division I At-Large Lisa Mispley Fortier, Assistant Coach, Gonzaga, Assistant Coaches Matthew Mitchell, Head Coach, Kentucky, Division I Mideast Kirsten Moore, Head Coach, Westmont College, NAIA Deb Patterson, Head Coach, Kansas State, Division I At-Large Laurel J. Ritchie, President, WNBA Iennifer Rizzotti, Head Coach, Hartford, Division I Legislative Vic Schaefer, Head Coach, Mississippi State, Male Coaches Mary Beth Spirk, Head Coach, Moravian College, Division III At-Large Dawn Staley, Head Coach, South Carolina, Division I At-Large

Christy Thomaskutty, Head Coach, Emory, Division III Legislative Cleve Wright, Head Coach, Gannon University, Division II Group I Toby Wynn, Head Coach, Seward Community College, Junior/Community College NCAA representative, TBA

About the WBCA:

Founded in 1981, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association promotes women's basketball by unifying coaches at all levels to develop a reputable identity for the sport and to foster and promote the development of the game as a sport for women and girls. The WBCA is pleased to join the women's sports community in commemorating the 40th anniversary of Title IX, which was passed by Congress on June 23, 1972, and provides females with equal opportunities in athletics in the U.S. For more information on the WBCA, please visit WBCA.org.