

## PRESS RELEASE

## Janna Blais Named the 2010 WBCA Administrator of the Year

ATLANTA, Ga. (April 3, 2010) — Northwestern University's Janna Blais has been named the recipient of the Women's Basketball Coaches Association's (WBCA) Administrator of the Year Award for her excellence in athletic administration.

This award is presented annually to an administrator, athletic director, associate or assistant athletic director or senior woman administrator who has excelled at encouraging the growth and quality of women's basketball programs and women's athletic programs overall. The candidate must also have served as a professional role model for student-athletes.

"We are delighted to present Janna Blais with the Administrator of the Year Award," said WBCA CEO Beth Bass. "We appreciate her efforts in helping increase awareness and support for student-athletes at Bowling Green State University and now at Northwestern."

Blais began her duties at Northwestern on Feb. 15 after spending the past 10 years with Bowling Green State University as the senior associate athletics director/senior woman administrator. She assumed the same title at Northwestern where she manages all student-athlete welfare departments including compliance, academic services, strength and conditioning, equipment and athletic training. She also serves as the department's liaison at Big Ten and NCAA meetings. Blais is the sport administrator for men's and women's soccer and women's lacrosse and serves as the secondary supervisor for women's basketball.

During her time at BGSU, Blais was responsible for the supervision, evaluation and overall management of nine sports, including women's basketball. Her duties also included the administration of the athletic training and strength and conditioning areas, coordinating the development of travel, recruiting and operating budgets, approving expenditures for 11 separate sports and support areas and monitoring/evaluating gender equity and minority opportunity plans.

Blais served a four-year term on the NCAA Division I Softball Committee and chaired the committee in her final year. In addition, Blais was chair of the MAC Senior Administrators group and a member of the three-person MAC Executive Committee.

A native of Lakeville, Mass., Blais is a 1993 graduate of the University of Connecticut, where she majored in athletic training. She returned to UConn for her master's degree in sport management which she completed in 1996.

Blais will be formally recognized at the WBCA Awards Luncheon *presented by State Farm and Jostens* at Noon CT on Tuesday, April 6, at the Marriott Rivercenter Grand Ballroom. This event is part of the WBCA National Convention and is held in conjunction with the NCAA® Women's Final Four® in San Antonio, Texas.

Past recipients of the WBCA Administrator of the Year Award include: Carolyn Campbell-McGovern, Ivy League (2009); Marianne Vydra, Oregon State University (2008), Carol Sprague, University of Pittsburgh (2007); Jane Meyer, University of Iowa (2006), Debbie Richardson, Campbell University (2005); Dr. M. Dianne Murphy, University of Denver (2004); Cary Groth, Northern Illinois University (2003); Marita Hynes, University of Oklahoma (2002); Jane Meier, Northern Kentucky (2001); Bernadette McGlade, ACC (2000); Don DiJulia, St. Joseph's (Pa.) University (1999); Jeanne Lenti Ponsetto, DePaul University (1998); Lynn Dorn, North Dakota State University (1997); Dr. Mary Jo Wynn, Southwest Missouri State University (1996); Ellen Perry, Pennsylvania State University (1995); Lynn Barry, USA Basketball (1994); the late Jeannine McHaney, Texas Tech University (1993); Dr. Christine Grant, University of Iowa (1992); Dr. James Jarrett, Old Dominion University (1991); Dr. Judith Holland, UCLA (1990); Dr. Donna Lopiano, University of Texas (1989); Dr. Joyce Wong, University of Rochester (1988); Joan Cronan, University of Tennessee (1987); Nora Lynn Finch, North Carolina State University (1987); Dr. Charlotte West, Southern Illinois University (1987).