

## PRESS RELEASE

## WBCA Board of Directors Adds Three in 2008

ATLANTA, Ga. (July 16, 2008) -- Sherri Coale, President of the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA), announced the appointment and the election results for the WBCA Board of Directors. Three new members were added and ten existing members were reappointed or reelected for second terms to make up the 29-member board of coaches and professionals.

Joining the board in 2008 is Jennifer Rizzoti, University of Hartford (Division I/East); Carol Owens, Northern Illinois University (Division I/Mideast) and Coquese Washington, Pennsylvania State University (Division I/At Large).

The 10 reappointed or reelected members include Carolyn Campbell–McGovern, Ivy League (CBI Chair); Gie Parsons, Clarion University (Division II/Group I); Carmen Dolfo, Western Washington University (Division II/Group II); Nan Carney–DeBord, Ohio Wesleyan University (Division III/At Large); Michael Landers, Trinity Valley Community College (JC/CC); Kathy Richey–Walton, Southwest DeKalb High School (High School); Muffet McGraw, University of Notre Dame (NCAA Division I Legislative Chair); Sue Ramsey, Ashland University (NCAA Division II Legislative Chair); Patrick Nero, America East Conference (Conference Commissioners Association) and Donna Orender, WNBA President (WNBA).

"I am so pleased to have such a wonderful group of fellow coaches and administrators around me during my second year in office," said Coale. "Every one brings their own unique perspective and experience to the table which will certainly enhance the Board. I have no doubt the WBCA will continue to grow and do great things on the court and in the community in the year to come."

Making up the WBCA Executive Committee is Sherri Coale, University of Oklahoma (President); Geno Auriemma, University of Connecticut (Vice President); Bonnie Henrickson, University of Kansas (Secretary); Terri Mitchell, Marquette University (Treasurer); Pam Ruder, Southwestern University (Division III/At Large); Doug Bruno, DePaul University (Past President); LaVonda Wagner, Oregon State University (Division I/At Large) and Carolyn Campbell-McGovern, Ivy League (CBI Chair).

Other members of the WBCA Board of Directors include: Lisa Bluder, University of lowa (Division I/Midwest); Joanne Boyle, University of California (Division I/West); Charli Turner Thorne, Arizona State University (Division I/At Large); Sue Semrau, Florida State University (Division I/At Large); Russ Davis, Vanguard University (NAIA); Stephanie Glance, North Carolina State University (Assistant Coaches); Charlene– Thomas Swinson, University of Tulsa (Black Coaches Administrators); Tom Collen, University of Arkansas–Fayetteville (Male Coaches of Women's Basketball) and Karen Tessmer, Worcester State College (NCAA Division III Legislative Chair).

The WBCA Board of Directors develops policies, procedures and regulations for the operation of the organization. They also monitor the organization's financial health, programs and overall performance and provide the chief executive officer with the resources to meet the needs of those the organization serves.