

## PRESS RELEASE

## Carolyn Campbell-McGovern Named the 2009 WBCA Administrator of the Year

ATLANTA, Ga. (March 5, 2009) — Ivy League senior associate director Carolyn Campbell–McGovern has been named the recipient of the Women's Basketball Coaches Association's (WBCA) Administrator of the Year Award for her excellence in athletic administration.

This award is presented annually to an administrator, athletic director, associate or assistant athletic director or senior woman administrator who has excelled at encouraging the growth and quality of women's basketball programs and women's athletic programs overall. The candidate must also have served as a professional role model for student-athletes.

"For all of your work in helping promote the game of women's basketball, I am delighted to present Carolyn with the Administrator of the Year award, said WBCA CEO Beth Bass. "Thank you for your hard work and devotion to the game."

In her role as senior associate director at the Ivy League, Campbell-McGovern assists the executive director in managing league activities for 33 varsity women's and men's sports, involving more than 7,000 student-athletes annually. With the executive director, she is responsible for conducting and reporting at the semi-annual meeting of various conference committees, including Presidents, Faculty Representatives, Admissions Officers, Financial Aid Officers and Athletic Administrators. Campbell-McGovern also directs the Ivy League's NCAA compliance program where she works closely with all eight athletic departments to ensure the Ivy institutions understand and follow NCAA and Ivy rules.

Campbell-McGovern has served national sport organizations including the United States Olympic Committee and the National Association of Collegiate Women Athletics Administrators as a member of the Board of Directors. She currently serves on the WBCA Board of Directors as the CBI (Committee on Basketball Issues) Chair and represents the Ivy League on the NCAA Management Council.

Past recipients of the WBCA Administrator of the Year Award include: Marianne Vydra, Oregon State University (2008), Carol Sprague, University of Pittsburgh (2007); Jane Meyer, University of Iowa (2006), Debbie Richardson, Campbell University (2005); Dr. M. Dianne Murphy, University of Denver (2004); Cary Groth, Northern Illinois University (2003); Marita Hynes, University of Oklahoma (2002); Jane Meier, Northern Kentucky (2001); Bernadette McGlade, ACC (2000); Don DiJulia, St. Joseph's (Pa.) University (1999); Jeanne Lenti Ponsetto, DePaul University (1998); Lynn Dorn, North Dakota State University (1997); Dr. Mary Jo Wynn, Southwest Missouri State University

(1996); Ellen Perry, Pennsylvania State University (1995); Lynn Barry, USA Basketball (1994); the late Jeannine McHaney, Texas Tech University (1993); Dr. Christine Grant, University of Iowa (1992); Dr. James Jarrett, Old Dominion University (1991); Dr. Judith Holland, UCLA (1990); Dr. Donna Lopiano, University of Texas (1989); Dr. Joyce Wong, University of Rochester (1988); Joan Cronan, University of Tennessee (1987); Nora Lynn Finch, North Carolina State University (1987); Dr. Charlotte West, Southern Illinois University (1987).