

PRESS RELEASE

Debbie Antonelli Announced as Winner of the Mel Greenberg Media Award

ATLANTA, Ga. (April 3, 2007) -- Basketball Analyst Debbie Antonelli has been named the winner of the 2007 Women's Basketball Coaches Association's (WBCA) Mel Greenberg Media Award.

Named after Mel Greenberg, the Philadelphia Inquirer sportswriter who founded the Associated Press Top 25 women's basketball poll, the WBCA's Mel Greenberg Media Award is presented annually to a member of the media who has best displayed a commitment to women's basketball and to advancing the role of the media in the women's game. Selected by past recipients of the award, the candidate must have had a positive impact on the growth and national or regional exposure of the sport, been involved in the media exposure of women's basketball for a minimum of five years and should be a media ambassador for the women's game.

Veteran broadcaster Debbie Antonelli has served on broadcast teams for the WNBA, the ABL, FOX Sports Net, CBS Sports, ESPN, ESPN2 and CSTV. Since 1996, Antonelli's television resume includes: lead analyst for Atlantic Coast Conference women's basketball, along with the Big 12, the Big East and Southeastern Conference women's basketball. Antonelli has been on the Radio call of the Final Four for ten consecutive seasons for Westwood One/CBS Radio.

Antonelli was a three-year starter at guard for North Carolina State where she helped guide the Wolfpack to four NCAA tournament appearances and two Sweet 16 appearances. The Cary, N.C. native graduated with a double major in business management and economics. She went on to earn her master's degree in sports administration from Ohio University, where she also served as the graduate assistant women's basketball coach. Antonelli runs her own basketball camps and clinics in Charleston, SC.

Greenberg, the pre-eminent name in women's basketball coverage, was named the winner of the inaugural award in 1991. Antonelli was formally presented the award at the WBCA Awards Luncheon presented by State Farm and Jostens on Tuesday, April 3, at 12:00 p.m. (ET) in the Crowne Plaza's Grand Ballroom. The 2007 WBCA National Coach of the Year Luncheon presented by AstraZeneca is during the WBCA National Convention, held in conjunction with the 2007 NCAA® Women's Final Four® in Cleveland, Ohio.

As the 17th winner of the award, Antonelli joins a distinguished list of recipients, including: Bill Jauss, Chicago Tribune (2006); Dave Loane, University of Illinois (2005); Tam Flarup, University of Wisconsin-Madison (2004); Mechelle Voepel, Kansas City

Star/ESPN (2003); Bob Kenney, Courier Post (2002); Robin Roberts, ABC News (2001); Vic Dorr, Richmond Times-Dispatch (2000); Ann Meyers-Drysdale, ESPN (1999); Mary Garber, Winston-Salem Journal (1998); the late Mitch Parkinson, Southern Illinois University (1997); Debby Jennings, University of Tennessee (1996); the late Mike Augustin, St. Paul Pioneer Press (1995); Mimi Griffin, MSG Promotions/ESPN (1994); Jane Burns, Des Moines Register (1993); Debbie Becker, USA TODAY (1992); and Mel Greenberg, Philadelphia Inquirer (1991).