

PRESS RELEASE

Hatchell Named RUSSELL ATHLETIC/WBCA National NCAA Division I Coach of the Year

ATLANTA, Ga. (March 23, 2006) -- The Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) has selected Sylvia Hatchell of the University of North Carolina as the 2006 RUSSELL ATHLETIC/WBCA National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division I Coach of the Year. This year marks the 24th year that this accolade has been presented, which has been selected by the WBCA since 1983.

"On behalf of the WBCA, we are proud to honor Sylvia as the 2006 RUSSELL ATHLETIC/WBCA National NCAA Division I Coach of the Year," said WBCA CEO Beth Bass. "Her dedication and commitment to North Carolina, to her student-athletes and to the game of women's basketball has proven to be exceptional."

Entering her 20th year with the Tar Heels, Hatchell has led her teams to an NCAA Championship (1994) and six Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) titles. Over the past 14 years, Hatchell has lead North Carolina to 12 NCAA Tournament appearances and 13 total since 1986. In 1994, USA Today and College Sports Magazine named her the National Coach of the Year and earned ACC Coach of the Year honors in 1997. She was also inducted into the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame in 2004 and during the 1996–97 academic year, she served on the WBCA Board of Directors as president.

Internationally, Hatchell led the U.S. to a silver medal at the World University Games in Fukuoka, Japan in 1995, and in 1994 she lead the U.S team to the gold medal in the R. William Jones Cup. She has also been an assistant coach for five gold-medalwinning teams and coached standout players such as Tracy Reid, Charlotte Smith, Marion Jones, Nikki Teasley and Coretta Brown.

The Tar Heels captured the ACC regular season title for the second year in a row this season and also won the ACC Tournament title. In addition, Hatchell was named the 2005–06 ACC Coach of the Year. This season marks the eighth time in Hatchell's career at North Carolina that her team has entered the NCAA Sweet Sixteen.

"Russell Athletic is proud to support the WBCA and be the presenting sponsor of the Coach of the Year Awards," said Calvin Johnston, President & CEO of Russell Athletic. "We are huge supporters of women's sports across America and rewarding excellence is a hallmark of our company."

Hatchell is one of six RUSSELL ATHLETIC/WBCA National Coaches of the Year selected by the Association, which also names winners for each of the other four WBCA collegiate divisions (NCAA Divisions II and III, NAIA and JC/CC) as well as High School. Each collegiate winner is selected through a two-level process. The first level is by region, in which coaches from each WBCA geographical region vote for their respective top coach. Hatchell, having received the most votes in WBCA Region 2–East, advanced as a finalist to the national level of the selection process along with the other seven Regional Coaches of the Year in NCAA Division I.

The WBCA would also like to recognize the following regional Division I Coaches of the Year:

Region	Coach	University
1–East	Vivian C. Stringer	Rutgers University
3– Midwest	Pat Summitt	University of Tennessee
4– Midwest	Curt Miller	Bowling Green State University
5– Midwest	Sherri Coale	University of Oklahoma
6– Midwest	Jim Wiedie	Indiana State University
7–West	Don Flanagan	University of New Mexico
8–West	Charli Thorne	Arizona State University

Hatchell and the national winners from the other five divisions will be honored at the RUSSELL ATHLETIC/WBCA National Coach of the Year Luncheon presented by AstraZeneca on Tuesday, April 4 at 12:00 p.m. (ET) in the Hynes Convention Center Ballroom. The luncheon is part of the 2006 WBCA National Convention held in conjunction with the NCAA[®] Women's Final Four[®] in Boston, Mass. This year the WBCA celebrates its Silver Anniversary, marking 25 years of existence.