

PRESS RELEASE

WBCA Announces the 2006 RUSSELL ATHLETIC/WBCA Regional Coaches of the Year

ATLANTA, Ga. (March 14, 2006) -- The Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) is proud to announce the RUSSELL ATHLETIC/WBCA Regional Coach of the Year winners for the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA), National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) and Junior College/Community College (JC/CC).

Below are the RUSSELL ATHLETIC/WBCA Regional Coach of the Year winners:

NCAA Division I				
REGION	COACH	INSTITUTION		
Region 1	C. Vivian Stringer	Rutgers University		
Region 2	Sylvia Hatchell	North Carolina		
Region 3	Pat Summitt	Tennessee		
Region 4	Curt Miller	Bowling Green State		
Region 5	Sherri Coale	Oklahoma		
Region 6	Jim Wiedie	Indiana State		
Region 7	Don Flanagan	University of New Mexico		
Region 8	Charli Thorne	Arizona State		
NCAA Division II				
REGION	COACH	INSTITUTION		
Region 1	Joseph Frager	Southern Connecticut St.		
Region 2	Steve Harold	Glenville State College		
Region 3	Joli Robinson	North Carolina Central		
Region 4	Nyla Milleson	Drury University		
Region 5	Glenn Wilkes	Rollins College		
Region 6	Bob Schneider	West Texas A & M		
Region 7	Gene Roebuck	Univ. of North Dakota		
Region 8	Marcia Murota	Cal. St. Univ. – Los Angeles		

NCAA Division

III		
REGION	COACH	INSTITUTION
Region 1	Gary Fifield	Univ. of Southern Maine
Region 2	Phillip Kahler	Saint John Fisher College
Region 3	Deena Applebury	Univ. of Mary Washington
Region 4	Michael Strong	University of Scranton
Region 5	Carroll LaHaye	Randolph-Macon College
Region 6	Kris Huffman	DePauw University
Region 7	Nancy Fahey	Washington University
Region 8	Brian Niemuth	Simpson College
NAIA		
REGION	COACH	INSTITUTION
Region 1	Russ Davis	Vanguard University
Region 2	Tracee Fairbanks	Doane College
Region 4	Gary Andrews	Univ. of Saint Francis
Region 5	Kirk Martin	Cedarville University
Region 6	Marty Rowe	Lee University
JC/CC		
REGION	COACH	INSTITUTION
Region 2	Seth Goodman	Monroe College
Region 3	Michael Holloman	Louisburg College
Region 4	Greg Franklin	Southeaster Illinois College
Region 5	Kim Muhl	Kirkwood CC
Region 6	Trenia Tillis	Tyler JC
Region 7	Lin Laursen	Central Arizona College
Region 8	Matt Borchert	Solano CC
Region 9	Susan Summons	Miami-Dade College

....

The winners are selected through a two-level process. The first level is by region, in which coaches from each WBCA geographical region vote for their respective top coach. If a coach has been selected as Regional Coach of the Year, they advance as a finalist to the national level of the selection process along with the other Regional Coaches of the Year in their respective division. The number of coaches varies depending on affiliation.

The winners of the WBCA National Coach of the Year for each division will be honored on Tuesday, April 4 at 12 p.m. (ET) during the RUSSELL ATHLETIC/WBCA Coach of the Year Luncheon in the Hynes Convention Center Ballroom, which is part of the 2006

WBCA National Convention. This year the WBCA celebrates it's Silver Anniversary, marking 25 years of existence.