

PRESS RELEASE

WBCA Announces Finalists For The 2006 State Farm Wade Trophy

ATLANTA, Ga. (March 9, 2006) -- The State Farm Wade Trophy Committee along with the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) and the National Association for Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS) announced today the 12 finalists in contention for The State Farm Wade Trophy.

"All 12 finalists have earned this recognition, considering the contributions they have made to their institutions both on and off the court," said WBCA CEO, Beth Bass. "Any of these student-athletes would be an excellent representative of Lily Margaret Wade and The State Farm Wade Trophy."

Although 12 players have been recognized, other players are still eligible to be considered for The State Farm Wade Trophy. A preseason "Wade Watch" list was named in August 2005. One player that was not a State Farm Wade Trophy preseason candidate and has been added to the list for her outstanding performance this season is the University of Georgia's Sherill Baker.

The candidates were selected by a vote of committee members comprised of leading basketball coaches, journalists and basketball administrators. Members of the committee will select the winner of The State Farm Wade Trophy from the 10-member Division I Kodak All-America Team and will be announced at the Kodak/WBCA All-America Team Press Conference and The State Farm Wade Trophy Announcement during the WBCA National Convention on Saturday, April 1, 2006 at 9:45 a.m. (ET). This year the WBCA celebrates it's Silver Anniversary, marking 25 years of existence.

"Congratulations to all of the finalists on being the leading candidates for The State Farm Wade Trophy Player of the Year," said Mark D. Gibson, Assistant Vice President of Advertising at State Farm. "This is a wonderful honor for such outstanding studentathletes, and we concur with Beth and look forward to seeing these individuals fulfill the rest of their basketball dreams."

The State Farm Wade Trophy Finalists:

| Player Name | Institution | Year | Position |
|---------------------|-------------|--------|---------------|
| Seimone Augustus | LSU | Senior | Guard |
| Sherill Baker | Georgia | Senior | Guard |
| Monique Currie | Duke | Senior | Guard/Forward |

| Jessica Davenport | Ohio State | Junior | Center |
|----------------------|-------------------|-----------|----------------|
| Candice Dupree | Temple | Senior | Forward/Center |
| Sylvia Fowles | LSU | Sophomore | Center |
| Tasha Humphrey | Georgia | Sophomore | Forward |
| lvory Latta | North Carolina | Junior | Guard |
| Cappie Pondexter | Rutgers | Senior | Guard |
| Khara Smith | DePaul | Senior | Forward |
| Candice Wiggins | Stanford | Sophomore | Guard |
| Sophia Young | Baylor | Senior | Forward |
| | | | |

The State Farm Wade Trophy, now in its 29th year is named after the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University coach, Lily Margaret Wade. This most prestigious award, regarded as "The Heisman of Women's Basketball", debuted in 1978 as the first-ever women's national player of the year award in college basketball.

Last year's State Farm Wade Trophy recipient was Seimone Augustus (Louisiana State University). The first recipient of the Wade Trophy was Carol Blazejowski of Montclair State in 1978. Other Wade Trophy/NCAA Division I Player of the Year recipients include many WNBA standouts such as Teresa Weatherspoon (1988), DeLisha Milton-Jones (1997), Ticha Penicheiro (1998), Sue Bird (2002), Diana Taurasi (2003) and the only two-time recipient thus far, Nancy Lieberman (1979 and 1980).