

## PRESS RELEASE

## 2006 WBCA Award Recipients Named

ATLANTA, Ga. (March 9, 2006) -- The Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) has named the 2006 list of award recipients. These honorable recognitions are among the top awards presented in women's basketball in all facets of the game.

Including prestigious honors such as the Jostens-Berenson Service Award and the Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award, each individual chosen to represent these awards are among the leading women's basketball coaches, administrators, players and media ambassadors for women's basketball.

## The 2006 Awards Recipients are:

Award	Name	Affiliation
Jostens Berenson Service Award	Sue Gunter	LSU, Former Head Coach
Carol Eckman Award	Gail Geostenkors	Duke, Head Coach
WBCA Scholarship Award	Jaime Fornetti	Albion College, Student-Athlete
WBCA Scholarship Award	Whitney Cave	Siena College, Student-Athlete
Charles T. Stoner Law Scholarship Award	Bethany Roderigue	Stonehill College, Student-Athlete
Robin Roberts/WBCA Broadcasting Scholarship	Courtney LaVere	Notre Dame, Student-Athlete
Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award	Megan Duffy	Notre Dame, Student-Athlete
WBCA Graduate Assistant of the Year Award	Dana Ferguson	DePauw Univ., Graduate Asst.
Mel Greenberg Media Award	Bill Jauss	Chicago Tribune, Retired Sportswriter
WBCA Administrator of the Year Award	Jane Meyer	Univ. of Iowa, Senior Associate Director of Athletics/Senior Woman Administrator

Each award recipient will be formally presented their award during the 2006 WBCA National Convention, which takes place between March 31 through April 4 in Boston, Mass. The convention is held each year in conjunction with the NCAA® Women's Final Four®. This year the WBCA celebrates it's Silver Anniversary, marking 25 years of existence.

For a complete release on any of the aforementioned award recipients, please contact

the WBCA media office.