

PRESS RELEASE

Pre-Season Candidates Selected for The 2005 State Farm Wade Trophy

ATLANTA, Ga. (August 17, 2004) — A national awards committee consisting of leading basketball coaches, journalists, and basketball administrators today announced its preseason list for The State Farm Wade Trophy. The list is comprised of 31 student-athletes who are members of an NCAA Division I institution and are selected based on the following criteria: game and season statistics, leadership, character, effect on their team and overall playing ability.

"The 2004-05 State Farm Wade Trophy preseason list is an example of how dynamic and exciting the game of women's college basketball has become," said Jeanne Lenti-Ponsetto, Chair of the State Farm Wade Trophy Committee and Athletic Director, DePaul University. "These 31 student-athletes represent the best and brightest and we look forward to an outstanding year of college women's basketball."

Of the 31 student-athletes selected for the preseason "Wade Watch," the Big 12 led with seven (7); the BIG EAST followed with five (5) players; the SEC and PAC-10 each have four (4) players; the ACC and Conference USA with three (3) players; the Big Ten with two (2) players, while the Big South, Big West and Mountain West have one player represented respectively.

The State Farm Wade Trophy, now in its 28th year and named after the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University coach, Lily Margaret Wade, debuted in 1978 as the first-ever women's national player of the year award in college basketball. This most prestigious award, regarded as "The Heisman of Women's Basketball", is organized by the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA), in conjunction with the National Association for Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS).

Last year's State Farm Wade Trophy recipient was Alana Beard (Duke University). The first recipient of the Wade Trophy was Carol Blazejowski of Montclair State in 1978. Other Wade Trophy/NCAA Division I Player of the Year recipients include many WNBA standouts such as Teresa Weatherspoon (1988), Jennifer Azzi (1990), Ticha Penicheiro (1998), Sue Bird (2002), Diana Taurasi (2003), in addition to; two-time winner Nancy Lieberman (1979 and 1980) and Cheryl Miller (1985).

The 2005 State Farm Wade Trophy winner will be announced during the WBCA National Convention held in conjunction with the NCAA Women's Final Four in Indianapolis, Indiana, April 2-5, 2005.

The pre-season candidates for The State Farm Wade Trophy, listed in alphabetical order, are as follows:

Name	Institution	2004-05 Class Year
Seimone Augustus	Louisiana State University	Junior
Jacqueline Batteast	Notre Dame	Senior
Steffanie Blackmon	Baylor University	Senior
Nikki Blue	UCLA	Junior
Jamie Carey	University of Texas	Senior
Monique Currie	Duke University	Junior
Shyra Ely	University of Tennessee	Senior
Katie Feenstra	Liberty University	Senior
Sandora Irvin	Texas Christian University	Senior
Dionnah Jackson	University of Oklahoma	Senior
Tiffany Jackson	University of Texas	Sophomore
Temeka Johnson	Louisiana State University	Senior
Ivory Latta	University of North Carolina	Sophomore
Camille Little	University of North Carolina	Sophomore
Sancho Lyttle	University of Houston	Senior
Kristen Mann	University of California, Santa Barbara	Senior
Janel McCarville	University of Minnesota	Senior
Jessica Moore	University of Connecticut	Senior
Shawntinice Polk	University of Arizona	Junior
Cappie Pondexter	Rutgers University	Senior
Noelle Quinn	UCLA	Sophomore
Heather Schreiber	University of Texas	Senior
Khara Smith	DePaul University	Junior
Kim Smith	University of Utah	Junior
Ann Strother	University of Connecticut	Junior
Barbara Turner	University of Connecticut	Junior
Kendra Wecker	Kansas State University	Senior
Dee-Dee Wheeler	University of Arizona	Senior
Tan White	Mississippi State University	Senior
Tanisha Wright	Penn State University	Senior
Sophia Young	Baylor University	Junior