

PRESS RELEASE

Charles Heatly to Receive WBCA's Jostens-Berenson Service Award

ATLANTA, Ga. (March 14, 2005) -- The Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) has named Charles Heatly the winner of the 2005 Jostens-Berenson Service Award, recognizing Heatly's lifelong commitment of service to the game of women's basketball.

"Charles Heatly has fought hard to enhance women's athletics and is a true trailblazer of the game," said WBCA CEO Beth Bass. "We are honored to present him with Jostens-Berenson Service Award."

Heatly was the head coach of girl's basketball at Lindsay High School (OK) from 1957 until 1987. During his tenure, he won 669 games while losing only 161 games. Heatly coached two state championship teams in 1962 and 1968 and his teams were state runner-ups in 1961, 1963 and 1976. Overall, he made a total of 17 state tournament appearances.

Heatly along with seven other coaches started the Oklahoma High School Girls Basketball Coaches Association in 1962. Heatly served as a board member, vicepresident, and president for the association. Heatly was voted the Chairman of their Board during their inception and continues to serve in that capacity today.

In 1971, Heatly started the Lindsay All-Star Basketball Camp and in 1979, he founded the Clinic of Champions to help promote girls basketball in the state of Oklahoma.

In 1993, Heatly received the Distinguished Alumni award given by his alma mater, the University of Central Oklahoma. Some of Heatly's other accomplishments include: hosting the oldest girls high school tournament from 1959 until 1995, and being named the National Girls Basketball Coach of the Year in 1981 by the National High School Coaches Association.

"Jostens would like to congratulate Charles Heatly on being selected as the 2005 Jostens-Berenson Service Award winner", said Lavisse Smith, Jostens' Sports Sales Manager. "Through Heatly's ongoing service to women's athletics, he has created opportunities for athletes, coaches and administrators dedicated to the improvement of women's athletics."

Heatly will be formally presented at The WBCA Awards Luncheon presented by State Farm and Jostens on Sunday, April 3 at the Indianapolis Convention Center. The luncheon is part of the WBCA National Convention held in conjunction with the 2005 NCAA Division I Women's Final Four in Indianapolis, Indiana. The award, sponsored by Jostens, is named in honor of the late Senda Berenson, who in her role as a physical education instructor at Smith College in Northampton, Mass., introduced "basketball" to her female gym students in 1892. This introduction marked the birth of the women's game, which occurred the year following basketball's invention by Dr. James Naismith in Springfield, Mass.

Charles Heatly joins a distinguished group of recipients which includes: Louise O'Neal, Wellesley College (2004); Dr. Charlotte West, Southern Illinois University (2003); Dr. Jill Hutchison, Illinois State University (2002); Bob Spencer, Fresno State (2001); the late Dr. Brenda Reilly, Central Connecticut State University (2000); Betty Wiseman, Belmont University (1999); Dr. Rose Marie Battaglia (1998); Lea Plarski, Saint Louis Community College (1997); Carole Baumgarten (1996); Billie Moore, California State – Fullerton (1995); Marcy Weston, Central Michigan University (1994); Patsy Neal (1993); Harvey Redin, Wayland Baptist University (1992); Alberta Lee Cox (1991); Bertha Frank Teague (1990); Pat Summitt, University of Tennessee (1989); Hunter Low, Eastman Kodak Company (1988); Cathy Rush, Immaculata College (1987); Mildred Barnes, Central Missouri State University (1986); the late Carol Eckman, Lock Haven University (1985); and the late Margaret Wade, Delta State University (1984).