

## PRESS RELEASE

## University of Illinois' Dave Loane Named Winner of Mel Greenberg Media Award

ATLANTA, Ga. (March 10, 2005) -- Dave Loane has been named the winner of the 2005 Women's Basketball Coaches Association's (WBCA) Mel Greenberg Media Award.

Named after Mel Greenberg, the Philadelphia Inquirer sportswriter who founded the Associated Press Top 25 women's basketball poll, the WBCA Media Award is presented annually to a member of the media who has best displayed a commitment to women's basketball and to advancing the role of the media in the women's game. Selected by past recipients of the award, the candidate must have had a positive impact on the growth and national or regional exposure of the sport; been involved in the media exposure of women's basketball for a minimum of five years; and should be a media ambassador for the women's game.

Dave Loane has served as the Play-by-Play announcer at the University of Illinois for 17 years. In addition to his duties for the women's basketball program, Loane does play-by-play for Illini volleyball, baseball, and men's basketball. In addition, Loane serves as Sports Director, which allows him to anchor the daily sportscasts on the morning show and weeknight "Sports Talk" show. He also produces the daily feature "Illini Today" which airs on the Illini Sports Network statewide.

Greenberg, the pre-eminent name in women's basketball coverage, was named the winner of the inaugural award in 1991. Dave Loane will be recognized at the 2005 RUSSELL ATHLETIC/WBCA National Coach of the Year Luncheon on Tuesday, April 5, 2005 at noon at the Indianapolis Marriott. The 2005 RUSSELL ATHLETIC/WBCA National Coach of the Year Luncheon is a program of the WBCA National Convention held in conjunction with the 2005 NCAA Division I Women's Final Four in Indianapolis, Indiana.

As the 15th winner of the award, Dave Loane joins a distinguished list of recipients, including: Tam Flarup, University of Wisconsin–Madison (2004); Mechelle Voepel, Kansas City Star/ESPN (2003); Bob Kenney, Courier Post (2002); Robin Roberts, ABC News (2001); Vic Dorr, Richmond Times–Dispatch (2000); Ann Meyers–Drysdale, ESPN (1999); Mary Garber, Winston–Salem Journal (1998); the late Mitch Parkinson, Southern Illinois University (1997); Debby Jennings, University of Tennessee (1996); the late Mike Augustin, St. Paul Pioneer Press (1995); Mimi Griffin, MSG Promotions/ESPN (1994); Jane Burns, Des Moines Register (1993); Debbie Becker, USA TODAY (1992); and Mel Greenberg, Philadelphia Inquirer (1991).