

PRESS RELEASE

Bonnie Henrickson to Receive WBCA's Carol Eckman Award

ATLANTA, Ga. (March 10, 2005) –-The Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) has announced Bonnie Henrickson of the University of Kansas as the winner of the Carol Eckman Award.

The Carol Eckman Award is presented annually to an active WBCA coach who exemplifies Eckman's spirit, integrity and character through sportsmanship, commitment to the student-athlete, honesty, ethical behavior, courage and dedication to purpose. The award is named in honor of the late Carol Eckman, the former West Chester State College coach who is considered the "Mother of the Women's Collegiate Basketball Championship." Eckman organized the first women's basketball championship at West Chester in 1969 and continued to garner recognition and support for the women's game until her death from cancer in 1985.

"Bonnie demonstrates a genuine dedication to her student-athletes, fellow colleagues and the game of basketball," said CEO Beth Bass. " She is a true model of what the Carol Eckman Award symbolizes."

Henrickson is in her first year at the helm of the University of Kansas. Henrickson previously served as the head women's basketball coach at Virginia Tech. Under her guidance, Virginia Tech reached the NCAA tournament five times and the WNIT twice. Henrickson has over 16 years of coaching experience. She has helped guide teams to post season play for 11 straight years. In 2000, Henrickson was the head coach of the USA Basketball R. Williams Jones Cup team that went 4–0 to claim the gold medal. This was the second time Henrickson served the USA Basketball team; she also served as an assistant coach on the Team USA squad that won the silver medal at the 1999 World University Games. Some of Henrickson's career honors include: 2004 VaSID Coach of the Year and 1999 Atlantic 10 Coach of the Year.

Henrickson earned her master degree in physical education from Western Illinois University while serving as a graduate assistant coach with the women's basketball team. Henrickson received her undergraduate degree from St. Cloud State University. As a player she helped SCSU win three North Sun Conference championships and advance to three NCAA Division II quarterfinals. Henrickson was inducted in to the St. Cloud State Hall of Fame in 1996.

Henrickson will be formally presented at the WBCA Awards Luncheon presented by State Farm and Jostens on April 3 at the Indianapolis Convention Center. The WBCA Awards Luncheon presented by State Farm and Jostens is part of the WBCA National Convention held in conjunction with the 2005 NCAA Division I Women's Final Four. Now in its 20th year, the Carol Eckman Award has recognized the following individuals in women's basketball: Deirdre Kane, West Chester University (2004); Marsha Sharp, Texas Tech University (2003); Barbara Stevens, Bentley College (2002); Juliene Simpson, East Stroudsburg University (2001); Kathy Delaney–Smith, Harvard University (2000); Susan Summons, Miami–Dade (Fla.) Community College (1999); Kay James, University of Southern Mississippi (1998); Amy Ruley, North Dakota State University (1997); Dr. Joann Rutherford, University of Missouri (1996); Ceal Barry, University of Colorado (1995); Sue Gunter, Louisiana State University (1994); C. Vivian Stringer, University of Iowa (1993); Dr. Jill Hutchison, Illinois State University (1992); Marian Washington, University of Kansas (1991); Maryalyce Jeremiah, Cal State Fullerton (1990); Linda Hill–MacDonald, Temple University (1989); Kay Yow, North Carolina State University (1988); Jody Conradt, University of Texas (1987), and Laura Mapp, Bridgewater College(1986).