WBCA WOMEN'S BASSETBALL CONCHES ASSOCIATION

PRESS RELEASE

Pre-Season Candidates Selected for The State Farm Wade Trophy Division I Player of the Year Award

ATLANTA, Ga. (August 20, 2003) — Diana Taurasi, Alana Beard, Nicole Powell and Kelly Mazzante are among the list of pre-season candidates for the 2003 – 2004 State Farm Wade Trophy and NCAA Division I Player of the Year honors. Beth Bass, CEO of the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) announced today.

The State Farm Wade Trophy, now in its 27th year and named after the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University coach, Lily Margaret Wade, debuted in 1978 as the first-ever women's national player of the year award in college basketball. This most prestigious award, regarded as "The Heisman of Women's Basketball", is organized by the WBCA in conjunction with the National Association for Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS).

The candidates were selected by a vote of committee members comprised of leading basketball coaches, journalists, and basketball administrators. Members of the committee were asked to name top female players who are most likely to be in contention for the award.

"We are extremely proud to produce for the first-time ever, The State Farm Wade Trophy pre-season list, which boasts the most talented women's basketball players in the nation," said WBCA CEO, Beth Bass. "This year's State Farm "Wade Watch" will once again be competitive and full of excitement."

The pre-season candidates for The State Farm Wade Trophy, listed in alphabetical order, are as follows:

Name	Institution	2003-04 Class Year
Augustus, Seimone	Louisiana State University	Sophomore
Batteast, Jacqueline	University of Notre Dame	Junior
Beard, Alana	Duke University	Senior
Benningfield, Jennifer	Vanderbilt University	Senior
Bjorklund, Tera	University of Colorado	Senior
Brunson, Rebekkah	Georgetown University	Senior
Carey, Jamie	University of Texas	Senior
Chones, Kaayla	North Carolina State University	Senior
Christon, Shameka	University of Arkansas	Senior
Ely, Shyra	University of Tennessee	Junior

Hoffman, Ebony	University of Southern California	Senior
Johnson, Temeka	Louisiana State University	Senior
Jones, Chandi	University of Houston	Senior
Kublina, Ieva	Virginia Tech	Senior
Lillis, Jennie	University of Iowa	Senior
Mazzante, Kelly	Penn State University	Senior
McCarville, Janel	University of Minnesota	Junior
Mendiola, Giuliana	University of Washington	Senior
Moore, Loree	University of Tennessee	Junior
Ohlde, Nicole	Kansas State University	Senior
Perkins, Jia	Texas Tech University	Senior
Polk, Shawntinice	University of Arizona	Sophomore
Pondexter, Cappie	Rutgers University	Junior
Powell, Nicole	Stanford University	Senior
Schreiber, Heather	University of Texas	Junior
Smith, Kim	University of Utah	Sophomore
Stephens, Stacy	University of Texas	Senior
Taurasi, Diana	University of Connecticut	Senior
Teamer, Brandi	University of Virginia	Junior
Thomas, Christi	University of Georgia	Senior
Tillis, Iciss	Duke University	Senior
Wecker, Kendra	Kansas State University	Junior
Whalen, Lindsay	University of Minnesota	Senior
White, Tan	Mississippi State University	Junior
Wright, Shereka	Purdue University	Senior

Last year's State Farm Wade Trophy recipient was Diana Taurasi (University of Connecticut). The first recipient of the Wade Trophy was Carol Blazejowski of Montclair State in 1978. Other Wade Trophy/NCAA Division I Player of the Year recipients include many WNBA standouts such as Teresa Weatherspoon (1988), Jennifer Azzi (1990), Rebecca Lobo (1995), Ticha Penicheiro (1998), in addition to; two-time winner Nancy Lieberman (1979 and 1980) and Cheryl Miller (1985).