

PRESS RELEASE

West Chester's Deirdre Kane to Receive WBCA's Carol Eckman Award

ATLANTA, Ga. (March 10, 2004) -- The Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) has announced Deirdre Kane as the winner of its Carol Eckman Award.

The Carol Eckman Award is presented annually to an active WBCA coach who exemplifies Eckman's spirit, integrity and character through sportsmanship, commitment to the student-athlete, honesty, ethical behavior, courage and dedication to purpose. The award is named in honor of the late Carol Eckman, the former West Chester State College coach who is considered the "Mother of the Women's Collegiate Basketball Championship." Eckman organized the first women's basketball championship at West Chester in 1969 and continued to garner recognition and support for the women's game until her death from cancer in 1985.

"It's quite amazing to see the legacy of Coach Eckman's spirit live on through one of her successors," said WBCA CEO, Beth Bass. "Deirdre has done an outstanding job maintaining the integrity of the West Chester women's basketball program."

Kane is the head women's basketball coach at West Chester University. She has won over 200 games, more than any women's basketball coach in the school's history. Last season, she led the team to the program's first PSAC Championship game and their first NCAA Division II Tournament win. Kane's past honors include WBCA District II Coach of the Year and PSAC Eastern Division Coach of the Year, an honor she received for two consecutive seasons.

Kane will receive her award at the State Farm Wade Trophy and State Farm/WBCA Player of the Year Luncheon, presented by Jostens. The awards luncheon is part of the 2004 WBCA National Convention held in conjunction with the NCAA Division I Women's Final Four in New Orleans, Louisiana.

Now in its 19th year, the Carol Eckman Award has recognized the following individuals in women's basketball: Marsha Sharp, Texas Tech University (2003); Barbara Stevens, Bentley College (2002); Juliene Simpson, East Stroudsburg University (2001); Kathy Delaney–Smith, Harvard University (2000); Susan Summons, Miami– Dade (Fla.) Community College (1999); Kay James, University of Southern Mississippi (1998); Amy Ruley, North Dakota State University (1997); Dr. Joann Rutherford, University of Missouri (1996); Ceal Barry, University of Colorado (1995); Sue Gunter, Louisiana State University (1994); C. Vivian Stringer, University of Iowa (1993); Dr. Jill Hutchison, Illinois State University (1992); Marian Washington, University of Kansas (1991); Maryalyce Jeremiah, Cal State Fullerton (1990); Linda Hill–MacDonald, Temple University (1989); Kay Yow, North Carolina State University (1988); Jody Conradt, University of Texas (1987), and Laura Mapp, Bridgewater College(1986).

Founded in 1981, the WBCA promotes women's basketball by unifying coaches at all levels to develop a reputable identity for the sport and to foster and promote the development of the game in all of its aspects as an amateur sport for women and girls. For more information about the WBCA, please visit WBCA.org.