

## PRESS RELEASE

## RUSSELL ATHLETIC and WBCA Announce the 2004 NCAA Division I Regional Coaches of the Year

ATLANTA, Ga. (March 8, 2004) -- RUSSELL ATHLETIC and the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) are proud to announce the Russell Athletic/WBCA Regional Coach of the Year winners for NCAA Division I.

"On behalf of the WBCA, we our honored to recognize this outstanding group of coaches," said Beth Bass, WBCA CEO. "Each individual coach has proven to be a great leader both on and off the court and is truly deserving of this acknowledgment."

"RUSSELL ATHLETIC congratulates each coach in their respective region," said Rod McGeachy, Vice President of Marketing. "We respect the commitment that all coaches make to their team and their sport and we at RUSSELL ATHLETIC are proud to be associated with this special achievement."

The winner is selected through a two-level process. The first level is by region, in which coaches from each WBCA geographical region vote for their respective top coach. If a coach has been selected as Regional Coach of the Year, they advance as a finalist to the national level of the selection process along with the other seven Regional Coaches of the Year in their respective division.

Below are the NCAA Division I Russell Athletic/WBCA Regional Coach of the Year winners:

Region 1 Ferne Labati University of Miami

Region 2 Gail Goestenkors Duke University

Region 3 Joe Ciampi Auburn University

Region 4 Doug Bruno DePaul University

Region 5 Jody Conradt University of Texas

Region 6 Rene Portland Penn State University

Region 7 Kurt Budke Louisiana Tech University

Region 8 Julie Wilhoit Loyola Marymount University

The winner of the NCAA Division I Russell Athletic/WBCA Coach of the Year will be honored on Tuesday, April 6 at 12:00 p.m. during the Russell Athletic/WBCA Coach of the Year Banquet at the New Orleans Marriott.