

PRESS RELEASE

WBCA Announces Top 21 Candidates for the 2004 State Farm Wade Trophy

ATLANTA, Ga. (February 17, 2004) -- With only a few weeks remaining in the regular season, the State Farm Wade Trophy Committee along with the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) and the National Association for Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS) today announced the top 21 candidates in contention for The State Farm Wade Trophy.

Featured among the group of 21, include 2003 State Farm Wade Trophy winner, Diana Taurasi (Connecticut). Other highlighted candidates are Duke's Alana Beard, Texas trio Jamie Carey, Heather Schreiber and Stacy Stephens, Penn State's Kelly Mazzante, Stanford's Nicole Powell, and dynamic duos out of Kansas State, Nicole Ohlde and Kendra Wecker, and Minnesota's Janel McCarville and Lindsay Whalen.

"All 21 candidates deserve this recognition, having made outstanding contributions to their respective teams and conferences," said WBCA CEO, Beth Bass. "Any player selected from this awesome group of talent would be an excellent representative of Lily Margaret Wade and The State Farm Wade Trophy."

Although 21 players have been recognized, other players are still eligible to be considered for the State Farm Wade Trophy. One player that was not a State Farm Wade Trophy Preseason Candidate and has been added to the list for her outstanding performance this season is the University of Florida's Vanessa Hayden.

The candidates were selected by a vote of committee members comprised of leading basketball coaches, journalists, and basketball administrators. Members of the committee will select the winner of The State Farm Wade Trophy from the 10-member Kodak All-America Team and will be announced during the WBCA National Convention, April 3-6, New Orleans, LA.

"On behalf of our Good Neighbor Agents and Employee's, it's an honor for State Farm to be a part of this outstanding award", said Pam El, Vice President of Marketing at State Farm. "Each of these student-athletes are deserving of being the 2004 State Farm Wade Trophy, Player of the Year."

Name	Institution	Year
Augustus, Seimone	Louisiana State University	Sophomore
Beard, Alana	Duke University	Senior
Bjorklund, Tera	University of Colorado	Senior
Brunson, Rebekkah	Georgetown University	Senior

*Carey, Jamie	University of Texas	Senior
Christon, Shameka	University of Arkansas	Senior
Hayden, Vanessa	University of Florida	Senior
Johnson, Temeka	Louisiana State University	Senior
Jones, Chandi	University of Houston	Senior
Mazzante, Kelly	Penn State University	Senior
McCarville, Janel	University of Minnesota	Junior
Ohlde, Nicole	Kansas State University	Senior
Polk, Shawntinice	University of Arizona	Sophomore
Pondexter, Cappie	Rutgers University	Junior
Powell, Nicole	Stanford University	Senior
Schreiber, Heather	University of Texas	Junior
Stephens, Stacy	University of Texas	Senior
Taurasi, Diana	University of Connecticut	Senior
Wecker, Kendra	Kansas State University	Junior
Whalen, Lindsay	University of Minnesota	Senior
Wright, Shereka	Purdue University	Senior

*Will be referred to as a junior, athletic eligibility-wise, and a senior academically. Carey received an extension of her eligibility through the 2004-05 academic year.

The State Farm Wade Trophy, now in its 27th year and named after the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University coach, Lily Margaret Wade, debuted in 1978 as the first-ever women's national player of the year award in college basketball. This most prestigious award, regarded as "The Heisman of Women's Basketball", is organized by the WBCA in conjunction with the National Association for Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS).

Last year's State Farm Wade Trophy recipient was Diana Taurasi (University of Connecticut). The first recipient of the Wade Trophy was Carol Blazejowski of Montclair State in 1978. Other Wade Trophy/NCAA Division I Player of the Year recipients include many WNBA standouts such as Teresa Weatherspoon (1988), Jennifer Azzi (1990), Ticha Penicheiro (1998), Sue Bird (2002), in addition to two-time winner Nancy Lieberman (1979 and 1980) and Cheryl Miller (1985).