AGENDA

Women's Basketball Coaches Association

Junior/Community College Business Meeting presented by adidas and Marriott Rewards

1-3 p.m. CT, Friday, March 31, 2017 Sheraton Dallas Hotel, Majestic 6 Dallas, Texas

- 1. Call to order. Brandan Harrell, WBCA board member.
- 2. Welcome and announcements. Harrell.
- 3. Presentation by adidas. Nelson Welch.
- 4. President's welcome. Coquese Washington, WBCA President.
- 5. Presentation of the United States Marine Corps/WBCA Junior/Community College Coaches of the Year Finalists.
- 6. NCAA playing rules update. Brad Duckworth, chair, Women's Basketball Rules Committee; Jon Levinson, Women's Basketball Secretary-Rules Editor; and Rachel Seewald, Associate Director of Championships and Alliances.
- 7. WBCA report. Harrell.
 - a. WBCA Coach Classroom Regional Workshops
 - b. Center for Coaching Excellence
 - c. United States Marine Corps Coaches Leadership Workshop
 - d. WBCA Webinar Series
 - e. Coach to Coach Mentoring Program
 - f. WBCA Day of Service
 - g. Open Dates of Service
 - h. Independent states updates (California, Oregon, and Washington).
- 8. Vacancies on WBCA committees [Supplement]. Harrell.
 - a. WBCA Board of Directors (vice president only open position) nominations posted March 13, deadline for nominations April 13. Ballots posted April 26, deadline for voting May 5.
 - b. WBCA committees nominations posted August 23, elections held in September 13-20.
- 9. New business. Harrell.
- 10. Special Situations programming presented by Lin Dunn, assistant coach, Kentucky.
- 11. Youth Sports programming presented by WBCA Youth Basketball Working Group.

Agenda Junior/Community College Business Meeting presented by adidas and Marriott March 31, 2017 Page No. 2

- 12. Membership concerns and challenges. Harrell.
- 13. Adjournment.

#

Agenda Junior/Community College Business Meeting presented by adidas and Marriott March 31, 2017 Page No. 3

Junior/Community College Award Winners

The Pat Summitt Trophy presented to the United States Marine Corps/WBCA National Junior/Community College Coach of the Year

Kim Muhl, Kirkwood Community College

WBCA Junior/Community College Player of the Year

Taylor Emery, Gulf Coast State College

United States Marine Corps/WBCA Junior/Community College Coach of the Year Finalists

Kim Muhl, Kirkwood Community College Kevin Lynum, Northwest Kansas Technical College Cayla Petree, South Plains College Betsy Specketer, Salt Lake Community College

Assistant Coach of the Year

Brittany Christian, Northwest Kansas Technical College

WBCA Coaches' All-America Team

Naomi Davenport, Trinity Valley Community College Taylor Emery, Gulf Coast State College Japonica James, Tallahassee Community College Tierra McGowan, Rock Valley College Velma Mitchell, McLennan Community College Jeryn Reese, Owens Community College Lanay Rodney, Monroe Community College Blaysen Varnadoe, Santa Ana College Szonja Vukov, Highland Community College (KS) Lawriell Wilson, Tallahassee Community College

NJCAA Division I National Champion

Gulf Coast State College, Mary Scovel

NJCAA Division II National Champion

Kirkwood Community College, Kim Muhl

NJCAA Division III National Champion

Rock Valley College, Misty Opat

NWAC Champion

Community Colleges of Spokane – Bruce Johnson

CCCAA Champion

Mt. San Antonio College – Brian Crichlow

WBCA Victory Club Honorees

Michael Llanas, Owens Community College

Agenda Junior/Community College Business Meeting presented by adidas and Marriott March 31, 2017 Page No. 4

WBCA Thirty Under 30 presented by Marriott Rewards

Shaina Afoa, University of Alaska - Anchorage

Courtney Boyd, University of Wisconsin - Parkside

DeAudra Brown, Seward County Community College

Chelsea Carlisle, Univeristy of California – San Diego

Jessica Cavaco Fairleigh Dickinson University, Florham

Brittany Christian, Northwest Kansas Technical College

Lauren DeFalco, Seton Hall University

Kathryn DeWitt, Dordt College

Erin Dickerson, Towson University

Megan Dzikas, Saint Leo University

Alexandria Fuller Simmons, University of Mississippi

Danielle Gratton, University of Missouri - Kansas City

Shaun Gunnell, University of Rio Grande

Hana Haden, Harris-Stowe State University

Neil Harrow, Troy University

Cody Hartzler, Baldwin Wallace Univesity

Aaron Horn, Univeristy of South Dakota

Jacie Hoyt, Kansas State University

Olivia Lett, University of Chicago

Amanda Patton, University of West Florida

April Phillips, Loyola Marymount University

Kris Seigenthaler, Auburn University At Montgomery

Kyley Simmons, University of Sioux Falls

MaryLynn Skarzenski, Mitchell College

Kylene Spiegel, Lawrence Technological University

Kimberly Stephens, Glenville State College

Adam Tandez, Northern Illinois University

Morgan Toles, Kent State University

Cetera Washington, Western Michigan University

Caitlin Wetmore, University of North Carolina at Greensboro

2017 WBCA JC/CC Committee Openings

Board of Directors

Position	Committee Member	Institution	Term End	*Term #
Vice President*	Jennifer Rizzotti	George Washington University	6/30/2017	

^{*}All nominations will be reviewed and approved by the Nominating Committee.

^{*}All committee members are eligible to serve two (2) terms