## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: <u>Jack Watford</u>, WBCA Director of Communications, 770-279-8027 ext. 112

## WBCA announces 2020-21 preseason 'Wade Watch' list

ATLANTA (Nov. 17, 2020) — 2020 WBCA Coaches' All-Americans Dana Evans of Louisville and Aari McDonald of Arizona headline the "Wade Watch" list of candidates for the 2021 Wade Trophy presented to the best player in college women's basketball, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association announced today. Evans and McDonald are joined on the list by Aliyah Boston of South Carolina who was the 2020 WBCA NCAA Division I Freshman of the Year presented by adidas.

The Wade Trophy — now in its 44th year — is the oldest and most prestigious national player of the year award in college women's basketball. It is named in honor of the late, legendary Delta State University head coach Lily Margaret Wade, who won three consecutive national championships with the Lady Statesmen. First awarded in 1978 by the American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (AAHPERD), now known as SHAPE America, the Wade Trophy has been presented to the WBCA NCAA Division I National Player of the Year since 2001.

The "Wade Watch" list of candidates for the Wade Trophy is composed of players selected by the WBCA NCAA Division I Coaches' All-America Selection Committee. The committee will review the list midseason to determine if additional players will be added based on their play during the first half of the 2020-21 season.

## Here is the list:

Name	Institution	Position	Height	<b>Current Year</b>
Janelle Bailey	North Carolina	$\mathbf{C}$	6-4	Sr.
Aliyah Boston	South Carolina	$\mathbf{F}$	6-5	So.
Jessika Carter	Mississippi State	F/C	6-5	Jr.
Charli Collier	Texas	F/C	6-5	Jr.
Zia Cooke	South Carolina	$\mathbf{G}$	5-9	So.
Elissa Cunane	NC State	$\mathbf{C}$	6-5	Jr.
Rennia Davis	Tennessee	G/F	6-2	Sr.
Chelsea Dungee	Arkansas	$\mathbf{G}$	5-11	RS Sr.
Dana Evans	Louisville	$\mathbf{G}$	5-6	Sr.
Vivian Gray	Texas Tech	$\mathbf{G}$	6-1	Sr.
Arella Guirantes	Rutgers	$\mathbf{G}$	5-11	RS Sr.
Naz Hillmon	Michigan	$\mathbf{F}$	6-2	$\operatorname{Jr}$
Rhyne Howard	Kentucky	G	6-2	Jr.
Lexie Hull	Stanford	G	6-0	$\operatorname{Jr}$

Rickea Jackson	Mississippi State	$\mathbf{F}$	6-2	Soph.
Ashley Joens	Iowa State	G/F	6-0	Jr.
N'dea Jones	Texas A&M	F	6-2	Sr.
Micaela Kelly	Central Michigan	G	5-6	Sr.
Ayoka Lee	Kansas State	C	6-6	Soph.
Tiana Mangakahia	Syracuse	G	5-6	5th Yr.
Aari McDonald	Arizona	G	5-6	Sr.
Olivia Nelson-Ododa	Connecticut	$\mathbf{F}$	6-5	Jr.
Michaela Onyenwere	UCLA	$\mathbf{F}$	6-0	Sr.
Charisma Osborne	UCLA	G	5-9	Soph.
Ashley Owusu	Maryland	G	6-0	Soph.
Ali Patberg	Indiana	G	5-11	Sr.
Lindsey Pulliam	Northwestern	G	5-10	Sr.
Maddy Siegrist	Villanova	$\mathbf{F}$	6-1	Soph.
Destiny Slocum	Arkansas	G	5-7	RS Sr.
NaLyssa Smith	Baylor	F	6-2	Jr.
Evina Westbrook	Connecticut	G	6-0	RS. Jr.
Christyn Williams	Connecticut	G	5-11	Jr.
Kiana Williams	Stanford	G	5-8	Sr.

###

## About the Women's Basketball Coaches Association

Founded in 1981, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association is the professional association for coaches of women's and girls' basketball at all levels of competition. The WBCA offers educational resources that coaches need to help make themselves better leaders, teachers and mentors to their players; provides opportunities for coaches to connect with peers in the profession; serves as the unifying voice of coaches to those organizations that control the game; and celebrates those coaches, players and other individuals who excel each year and contribute to the advancement of the sport. Visit <a href="www.WBCA.org">www.WBCA.org</a> for more details about the Association.