Naismith Starting 5

In 2018, the WBCA partnered with the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame to present five awards, named after Basketball Hall of Fame greats, to the top college women's basketball players in the country each season at the five positions. 

In addition to the esteemed Nancy Lieberman Point Guard Award which has been presented since 2000, the Basketball Hall of Fame and the WBCA will now present the Ann Meyers Drysdale Shooting Guard Award, Cheryl Miller Small Forward Award, Katrina McClain Power Forward Award and Lisa Leslie Center Award. These Hall of Famers excelled at the highest level of their positions, becoming icons in their respective roles on the floor.

All five awards are presented during the WBCA Convention.

Click below for more information on the award.

Naismith Starting 5


Each award namesake will head her own selection committee. Each selection committee will be composed of fellow Hall of Famers, WBCA member coaches, and media members.


Past award winners