Video announcement: https://youtu.be/tgvD1Mo0yP0

ATLANTA (April 2, 2020) – Sabrina Ionescu, of The University of Oregon, has been awarded the 2020 Wade Trophy and headlines the 2020 WBCA NCAA Division I Coaches’ All-America team, announced today by the Women's Basketball Coaches Association announced this evening.

The prestigious Wade Trophy, regarded as "The Heisman of Women's Basketball,” is presented annually to the NCAA Division I Player of the Year by the WBCA.

Ionescu, the 2019 Wade Trophy recipient, became the first player in men’s or women’s college basketball history to record 2,000 points, 1,000 rebounds and 1,000 assists in her career. She earned her third consecutive Pac-12 Player of the Year honor and matched her single-season record eight triple-doubles. Ionescu finishes her college career as the NCAA’s all-time leader in triple-doubles and No. 4 in career assists. She was named Player of the Year by the USBWA and ESPN.com and is a finalist for the Citizen Naismith Trophy and Nancy Lieberman Award, which she has won the last two years. 

Ionescu joins Lieberman, Seimone Augustus, Brittney Griner, Breanna Stewart and Maya Moore as two-time Wade Trophy winners. Moore is the award’s only three-time recipient.

“Congratulations to Sabrina Ionescu on winning women’s basketball’s highest player honor, the Wade Trophy, for the second straight year and to the entire 2020 WBCA NCAA Division I  Coaches’ All-America team,” said WBCA Executive Director Danielle M. Donehew. “Sabrina had another historic season at Oregon and elevated her game and, in so doing, our sport as well. She is an incredibly talented student-athlete, leader and ambassador for women’s basketball. Her mastery of so many skills coupled with her tremendous determination to succeed has excited the national media and fans alike, and has inspired the next generation of student-athletes.”

The Wade Trophy — now in its 43rd year — is the oldest and most prestigious national player of the year award in college women’s basketball. It is named in honor of the late, legendary Delta State University head coach Lily Margaret Wade, who won three consecutive national championships with the Lady Statesmen. First awarded in 1978 by the American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (AAHPERD), now known as SHAPE America, the The Wade Trophy has been presented by WBCA to the best player in NCAA Division I women’s college basketball since 2001.

Here are the 2020 WBCA NCAA Division I Coaches’ All-Americans:



Chennedy Carter

Texas A&M University

Lauren Cox

Baylor University

Kathleen Doyle

University of Iowa

Dana Evans

University of Louisville

Tyasha Harris

University of South Carolina

Ruthy Hebard

University of Oregon

Sabrina Ionescu

University of Oregon

Aari McDonald

University of Arizona

Satou Sabally

University of Oregon

Megan Walker

University of Connecticut

Here are the student-athletes who received 2020 WBCA NCAA Division I Coaches’ All-America honorable mention:



Bella Alarie

Princeton University

Grace Berger

Indiana University

Aliyah Boston

University of South Carolina

Brittany Brewer

Texas Tech University

Jessika Carter

Mississippi State University

Bre Cavanaugh

Fordham University

Kaila Charles

University of Maryland

Te’a Cooper

Baylor University

Elissa Cunane

North Carolina State University

Crystal Dangerfield

University of Connecticut

Rennia Davis

University of Tennessee

Nicki Ekhomu

Florida State University

Kiah Gillespie

Florida State University

Haley Gorecki

Duke University

Vivian Gray

Oklahoma State University

Arella Guirantes

Rutgers University

Naz Hillmon

University of Michigan

Becca Hittner

Drake University

Rhyne Howard

University of Kentucky

Rickea Jackson

Mississippi State University

Keri Jewett-Giles

Florida Gulf Coast University

Ashley Joens

Iowa State University

Stella Johnson

Rider University

Jazmine Jones

University of Louisville

Dorka Juhasz

Ohio State University

Antoinette Miller

University of Cincinnati

Beatrice Mompremier

University of Miami (FL)

Olivia Nelson-Ododa

University of Connecticut

Erica Ogwumike

Rice University

Michaela Onyenwere

University of California – Los Angeles

Ali Patberg

Indiana University

Chelsey Perry

University of Tennessee at Martin

Mikayla Pivec

Oregon State University

Lindsey Pulliam

Northwestern University

Destiny Slocum

Oregon State University

NaLyssa Smith

Baylor University

Chante Stonewall

DePaul University

Ilmar’I Thomas

University of Cincinnati

Alexis Tolefree

University of Arkansas

Kiana Williams

Stanford University


Christyn Williams

University of Connecticut


Jocelyn Willoughby

University of Virginia


About the WBCA
Founded in 1981, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association is the professional association for coaches of women's and girls' basketball at all levels of competition. The WBCA offers educational resources that coaches need to help make themselves better leaders, teachers and mentors to their players; provides opportunities for coaches to connect with peers in the profession; serves as the unifying voice of a diverse community of coaches to the organizations that control the game; and celebrates those coaches, players and other individuals who excel each year and contribute to the advancement of the sport. Visit www.WBCA.org for more details about the Association.

# # #