TAMPA, Florida (April 4, 2019) – Sabrina Ionescu, of The University of Oregon, has been awarded the 2019 Wade Trophy and headlines the 2019 WBCA NCAA Division I Coaches’ All-America team, announced today by the Women's Basketball Coaches Association announced this evening.

The prestigious Wade Trophy, regarded as "The Heisman of Women's Basketball,” is presented annually to the NCAA Division I Player of the Year by the WBCA.

For the second year in a row, Ionescu was named the Pac-12 Player of the Year while also being a first team All-Conference selection for the third-straight year. This season, she has led the Ducks to their first women’s Final Four. The California native averaged 19.9 points and 7.5 rebounds per game while totaling 305 assists this year. She holds Oregon’s single-game assist record with 17 and is the NCAA Division I record-holder for career triple-doubles among men and women.

“On behalf of the WBCA, I am honored to present women’s basketball’s highest honor, the Wade Trophy, to Sabrina Ionescu," said WBCA Executive Director Danielle Donehew. "Sabrina had a remarkable season and a historic career at Oregon.  She is a highly skilled and complete player.  

“Sabrina leads her team with passion, a high basketball IQ and profound work ethic.  She is a leader who has represented Oregon with class, captivated fans and influenced the next generation of student-athletes.”

The Wade Trophy — now in its 42nd year — is the oldest and most prestigious national player of the year award in college women’s basketball. It is named in honor of the late, legendary Delta State University head coach Lily Margaret Wade, who won three consecutive national championships with the Lady Statesmen. First awarded in 1978 by the American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (AAHPERD), now known as SHAPE America, the The Wade Trophy has been presented by WBCA to the best player in NCAA Division I women’s college basketball since 2001.

Here are the 2019 WBCA NCAA Division I Coaches’ All-Americans:



Kalani Brown

Baylor University

Bridget Carleton

Iowa State University

Napheesa Collier

University of Connecticut

Asia Durr

University of Louisville

Megan Gustafson

University of Iowa

Sabrina Ionescu

University of Oregon

Teaira McCowan

Mississippi State University

Arike Ogunbowale

University of Notre Dame

Katie Lou Samuelson

University of Connecticut

Alanna Smith

Stanford University

Here are the student-athletes who received 2019 WBCA NCAA Division I Coaches’ All-America honorable mention:



Bella Alarie

Princeton University

Kristine Anigwe

University of California - Berkeley

Kenisha Bell

University of Minnesota

Allazia Blockton

Marquette University

Chennedy Carter

Texas A&M University

Kaila Charles

University of Maryland

Lauren Cox

Baylor University

Sophie Cunningham

University of Missouri

Crystal Dangerfield

University of Connecticut

Rennia Davis

University of Tennessee

Reyna Frost

Central Michigan University

Kiah Gillespie

Florida State University

Vivian Gray

Oklahoma State University

Mart'e Grays

DePaul University

Tyasha Harris

University of South Carolina - Columbia

Ruthy Hebard

University of Oregon

Natisha Hiedeman

Marquette University

Becca Hittner

Drake University

Emese Hof

University of Miami

Anriel Howard

Mississippi State University

Rhyne Howard

University of Kentucky

Presley Hudson

Central Michigan University

Megan Huff

University of Utah

Paris Kea

University of North Carolina

Kiara Leslie

North Carolina State University

Marina Mabrey

University of Notre Dame

Darby Maggard

Belmont University

Tiana Mangakahia

Syracuse University

Tynice Martin

West Virginia University

Aari McDonald

University of Arizona

Beatrice Mompremier

University of Miami

Maci Morris

University of Kentucky

Michaela Onyenwere

University of California - Los Angeles

Teniya Page

Penn State University

Mikayla Pivec

Oregon State University

Caliya Robinson

University of Georgia

Satou Sabally

University of Oregon

Jessica Shepard

University of Notre Dame

Destiny Slocum

Oregon State University

Hallie Thome

University of Michigan

Brianna Turner

University of Notre Dame

Jackie Young

University of Notre Dame

About the WBCA
Founded in 1981, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association is the professional association for coaches of women's and girls' basketball at all levels of competition. The WBCA offers educational resources that coaches need to help make themselves better leaders, teachers and mentors to their players; provides opportunities for coaches to connect with peers in the profession; serves as the unifying voice of a diverse community of coaches to the organizations that control the game; and celebrates those coaches, players and other individuals who excel each year and contribute to the advancement of the sport. Visit www.WBCA.org for more details about the Association.