Wade Trophy winner NaLyssa Smith of Baylor headlines 2021 WBCA NCAA Division I Coaches’ All-America team

ATLANTA (April 3, 2021) – NaLyssa Smith of Baylor University is the 2021 Wade Trophy winner and headlines the 2021 WBCA NCAA Division I Coaches’ All-America team, announced today by the Women's Basketball Coaches Association.

The prestigious Wade Trophy is presented annually to the WBCA’s NCAA Division I Player of the Year. The Coaches’ All-America team is composed of the 10 best players in Division I regardless of position as chosen by the division’s head coaches. This is the first team since 2011 on which no institution placed more than one player.

Here are the 2021 WBCA NCAA Division I Coaches’ All-Americans:





Aliyah Boston

University of South Carolina



Paige Bueckers

University of Connecticut



Caitlin Clark

University of Iowa



Chelsea Dungee

University of Arkansas

Redshirt Senior


Dana Evans

University of Louisville



Naz Hillmon

University of Michigan



Rhyne Howard

University of Kentucky



Aari McDonald

University of Arizona



NaLyssa Smith

Baylor University



Kiana Williams

Stanford University



Smith, the Big 12 Player of the Year, led Baylor to a 28-3 record, the Big 12 regular season and tournament championships, and the Elite Eight round of the NCAA Championship. The 6-foot-2 junior forward from Converse, Texas, averaged 18 points and 8.9 rebounds per game while shooting 56.1 percent from the field and 79.2 percent from the free-throw line. She added 38 steals on defense to go with 26 blocks for the Lady Bears.

Smith is the third Lady Bear to win the Wade Trophy. Brittney Griner, a two-time winner, received the honor in 2012 and 2013. Odyssey Sims was presented with the award in 2014.

"On behalf of the WBCA, I am honored to present women’s basketball’s highest player honor, the Wade Trophy, to NaLyssa Smith," said WBCA Executive Director Danielle Donehew. "NaLyssa had an outstanding season and helped take our game to an exciting new level. She showcased her remarkable skill and ability to produce results while bettering her teammates in each game, and represented Baylor with class, captivating fans and influencing the next generation of student-athletes.

“Because of the COVID-19 pandemic, the 2020-21 college women’s basketball season was the most challenging and uncertain ever. To NaLyssa, the nine other Coaches’ All-Americans, and the more than 5,000 additional Division I women’s basketball players, as well as the 1,300 coaches who mentored, taught and coached you through it, we say thank you for your commitment, dedication and perseverance.”

The Wade Trophy — now in its 44th year — is the oldest national player of the year award in college women’s basketball. It is named in honor of the late, legendary Delta State University head coach Lily Margaret Wade, who won three consecutive national championships with the Lady Statesmen. It was first awarded in 1978 by the American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (AAHPERD), now known as SHAPE America. The WBCA has presented the Wade Trophy to its NCAA Division I Player of the Year since 2001. Since the inception of the award, freshman players have not been eligible.

Here are the 42 student-athletes who received 2021 WBCA NCAA Division I Coaches’ All-America honorable mention:




Shakira Austin

University of Mississippi


Janelle Bailey

University of North Carolina


Kierstan Bell

Florida Gulf Coast University


Grace Berger

Indiana University


Charli Collier

University of Texas


Zia Cooke

University of South Carolina


Lorela Cubaj

Georgia Institute of Technology


Elissa Cunane

North Carolina State University


Rennia Davis

University of Tennessee


Anna DeWolfe

Fordham University


Kysre Gondrezick

West Virginia University


Aleah Goodman

Oregon State University

Vivian Gray

Texas Tech University


Arella Guirantes

Rutgers University


Anastasia Hayes

Middle Tennessee State University


Mya Hollingshed

University of Colorado

Rickea Jackson

Mississippi State University


Ashley Joens

Iowa State University


Morgan Jones

Florida State University


N'dea Jones

Texas A&M University


Micaela Kelly

Central Michigan University


Lotta-Maj Lahtinen

Georgia Institute of Technology


Ayoka Lee

Kansas State University


Charlisse Leger-Walker

Washington State University

Selena Lott

Marquette University


Natasha Mack

Oklahoma State University


Tiana Mangakahia

Syracuse University


Diamond Miller

University of Maryland


Que Morrison

University of Georgia


Olivia Nelson-Ododa

University of Connecticut


Michaela Onyenwere

University of California, Los Angeles

Charisma Osborne

University of California, Los Angeles

Ashley Owusu

University of Maryland


DiDi Richards

Baylor University


Myah Selland

South Dakota State University

Destiny Slocum

University of Arkansas


Jenna Staiti

University of Georgia


IImar'I Thomas

University of Cincinnati


Unique Thompson

Auburn University


Jasmine Walker

University of Alabama


Maddy Westbeld

University of Notre Dame


Christyn Williams

University of Connecticut


About the WBCA
Founded in 1981, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association is the professional association for coaches of women's and girls' basketball at all levels of competition. The WBCA offers educational resources that coaches need to help make themselves better leaders, teachers and mentors to their players; provides opportunities for coaches to connect with peers in the profession; serves as the unifying voice of a diverse community of coaches to the organizations that control the game; and celebrates those coaches, players and other individuals who excel each year and contribute to the advancement of the sport. Visit WBCA.org for more details about the association.

# # #