Sterling’s K.C. Bassett named 2021 United States Marine Corps/WBCA NAIA National Coach of the Year

ATLANTA (March 22, 2021) — Sterling College head coach K.C. Bassett has been named the 2021 United States Marine Corps/WBCA NAIA National Coach of the Year, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association announced today.

Bassett will receive the Pat Summitt Trophy, named for the late legendary University of Tennessee coach and awarded annually to the national coaches of the year in each of the WBCA’s six membership divisions.

“The WBCA is proud to announce K.C. Bassett as the 2021 recipient of the Pat Summitt Trophy presented to the United States Marine Corps/WBCA NAIA National Coach of the Year,” said WBCA Executive Director Danielle M. Donehew. “We also congratulate the other head coaches who were selected by their peers as finalists for this prestigious award.

 "K.C. was chosen for this honor after leading her team to an exceptional season. The WBCA recognizes and applauds her leadership example that can be seen in her student-athletes, institution and community.”

Bassett recently completed her sixth season as head coach at Sterling. She directed the Lady Warriors to a 30-1 record and a berth in the Round of 16 in the 2021 NAIA Women’s Basketball Championship. Sterling won both the regular season and tournament championships in the Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference. It was the Lady Warriors’ first regular season KCAC championship in 10 years.

“The United States Marines Corps extends its congratulations to the 2021 winners of the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association National Coach of the Year Awards,” said Colonel Heather J. Cotoia (Commanding Officer, 4th Marine Corps District). “This award is a testament to your dedication and commitment to your profession and the young Americans under your charge. Again, congratulations on your achievements this season, and on your selection as the WBCA National Coaches of the Year.”

The United States Marine Corps/WBCA NAIA National Coach of the Year is selected by a committee of coaches. This year’s finalists were:



K.C. Bassett

Sterling College

Ginger Colvin

Campbellsville University

Katie Gearlds

Marian University

Kevin Herod

Talladega College

Darrick Matthews

University of Science & Arts of Oklahoma

Rachelle Sayers

Carroll College

Visit to see a list of past recipients.

About the WBCA
Founded in 1981, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association is the professional association for coaches of women's and girls' basketball at all levels of competition. The WBCA offers educational resources that coaches need to help make themselves better leaders, teachers and mentors to their players; provides opportunities for coaches to connect with peers in the profession; serves as the unifying voice of a diverse community of coaches to the organizations that control the game; and celebrates those coaches, players and other individuals who excel each year and contribute to the advancement of the sport. Visit for more details about the association.

# # #