ATLANTA (March 19, 2020) – Maddie Hasson of Bowdoin College is the 2020 WBCA NCAA Division III Player of the Year and headlines the 2020 WBCA NCAA Division III Coaches’ All-America team, announced by the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association today.

Hasson averaged 16.7 points, 7.9 rebounds and 2.0 assists per game this season and ranked among the nation’s leaders with a 61.7 field goal percentage. She led the second-ranked Polar Bears to their first New England Small College Athletic Conference title since 2009 and a berth in the NCAA Division III Sweet Sixteen. Hasson, who tallied 10 double-doubles and finished seventh all-time at Bowdoin with 1,321 points, was at her best against the nation’s best. In eight games against ranked opponents and in postseason play, she averaged 21.0 points, 9.8 rebounds, 1.3 steals while making 56% of her shots from the field.

She is the third Polar Bear to win the award, joining Eileen Flaherty (2007) and Kate Kerrigan (2018).

“Congratulations to WBCA NCAA Division III Player of the Year Maddie Hasson and the members of the WBCA NCAA Division III Coaches’ All-America team,” said WBCA Executive Director Danielle M. Donehew. "These young women have performed at an elite level of play throughout the season, and have inspired fans and young athletes alike.  The WBCA is proud to honor each of these student-athletes whose dedication and commitment to the sport has helped elevate our game to a new level.”

The WBCA presents the Player of the Year award annually to the top player in five of the six WBCA membership divisions (NCAA Divisions II, and III, NAIA, two-year college and high school). The Player of the Year and the 10-member Coaches’ All-America team in each division are selected by a committee of WBCA member coaches in that division. The Wade Trophy is presented to the best player in NCAA Division I.

Here are the 2020 WBCA NCAA Division III Coaches’ All-Americans:



Taite Anderson

Bethel University (MN)

Erica DeCandido

Tufts University

Hannah Fox

Amherst College

Maddie Hasson

Bowdoin College

Hallee Hoeppner

University of Wisconsin – Eau Claire

Raenett Hughes

University of Texas – Dallas

Sydney Kopp

DePauw University

Katie McShea

Marymount University

Kenedy Schoonveld

Hope College

Leah Springer

Messiah College

Here are the student-athletes who received 2020 WBCA NCAA Division III Coaches’ All-America honorable mention:



Jordan Barth

Misericordia University

Rachel Benedict

Nazareth College

Beth Bonin

State University of New York (SUNY) at Cortland

Anna Sophia Capizzi

Haverford College

Madeline Eck

Amherst College

Emma Gerdes

Wartburg College

Abigail Holland

Trinity University (TX)

Sheridan Hopkins

University of St. Thomas

Chanel Jemmott

Brooklyn College

Averi Jordan

DeSales University

Macenzie Kraemer

Loras College

Taylor Lake

University of Chicago

Olivia LeBaron

State University of New York (SUNY) Buffalo State

Makenzie Mason

University of Scranton

Jaysea Morgan

Webster University

Olivia Nagy

John Carroll University

Caitlin Navratil

Nebraska Wesleyan University

Cassidy O’Malley

Ithaca College

Victoria Pena

University of Texas – Dallas

Leah Porath

University of Wisconsin – Oshkosh

Rebecca Prociak

King’s College

Yuleska Ramirez-Tejeda

Emmanuel College

Timiya Ray

Dominican University (IL)

Devan Rimmer

Widener University

Riley Schill

Baldwin Wallace University

Marissa Schroeder

Loras College

Taylor Smith

Oglethorpe University

Dejah Terrell

Albright College

Madison Van Pelt

State University of New York (SUNY) at New Paltz

Olivia Voskuil

Hope College

About the WBCA
Founded in 1981, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association is the professional association for coaches of women's and girls' basketball at all levels of competition. The WBCA offers educational resources that coaches need to help make themselves better leaders, teachers and mentors to their players; provides opportunities for coaches to connect with peers in the profession; serves as the unifying voice of a diverse community of coaches to the organizations that control the game; and celebrates those coaches, players and other individuals who excel each year and contribute to the advancement of the sport. Visit for more details about the Association.