ATLANTA (March 25, 2019) — Molly Miller of Drury University has been named the 2019 United States Marine Corps/WBCA NCAA Division II National Coach of the Year, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association announced today.

Miller will be presented with the Pat Summitt Trophy, named for the late legendary University of Tennessee coach and awarded annually to the United States Marine Corps/WBCA National Coach of the Year in each of the WBCA’s six membership divisions, during the 2019 WBCA Convention, which will be held in conjunction with the NCAA Women’s Final Four in Tampa Bay, Florida.

"The WBCA is proud to name Molly Miller as the 2019 United States Marine Corps/WBCA NCAA Division II National Coach of the Year," said Danielle Donehew, executive director of the WBCA. "Molly was selected as the winner by her peers after leading her team to an exceptional season. The WBCA recognizes and applauds her leadership example that can be seen in her student-athletes, institution and community.”

Miller, in her fifth season at Drury, led the team to an undefeated regular season and its fourth Great Lakes Valley Conference Championship since she has been the head coach. Entering this season, she had a record of 113-16 as a head coach and her teams were 67-5 in conference play with no conference losses at home. The Lady Panthers have earned a trip to the NCAA Division II tournament in each of her five seasons and for the past four have advanced to the Midwest Regional championship game. This year’s team has advanced to the Elite Eight.

“The United States Marine Corps proudly recognizes Molly Miller for her leadership with the Lady Panthers and her commitment to women’s basketball,” said Lieutenant Colonel Christian Devine, national director, marketing and communications, Marine Corps Recruiting Command. “The hard work and dedication needed to achieve this recognition from her peers embodies the fighting spirit of all Marines.”

The NCAA Division II national coach of the year is selected by a committee of coaches. This year’s finalists were:



Jonathon Barbaree

Anderson University

Betsy Harris

Florida Southern College

Jackie Hartzell

University of the Sciences in Philadelphia

Tony Hobson

Fort Hays State University

Shelley Jarrard

Westminster College

Kenny Osborne

Concord University

Heidi VanDerveer

University of California - San Diego

Visit to see a list of past recipients.

About the WBCA
Founded in 1981, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association is the professional association for coaches of women's and girls' basketball at all levels of competition. The WBCA offers educational resources that coaches need to help make themselves better leaders, teachers and mentors to their players; provides opportunities for coaches to connect with peers in the profession; serves as the unifying voice of a diverse community of coaches to the organizations that control the game; and celebrates those coaches, players and other individuals who excel each year and contribute to the advancement of the sport. Visit for more details about the Association.