ATLANTA (March 7, 2019) — Mary “Roonie” Scovel, of Gulf Coast State College, has been named the 2019 United States Marine Corps/WBCA Two-Year College National Coach of the Year, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association announced today.

Scovel will be presented with the Pat Summitt Trophy, named for the late legendary University of Tennessee coach and awarded annually to the United States Marine Corps/WBCA National Coach of the Year in each of the WBCA’s six membership divisions, during the 2019 WBCA Convention, which will be held in conjunction with the NCAA Women’s Final Four in Tampa Bay, Florida.

"The WBCA is proud to name Mary Scovel as the 2019 United States Marine Corps/WBCA Two-Year College National Coach of the Year," said Danielle Donehew, executive director of the WBCA. "Mary was selected as the winner by her peers after leading her team to an exceptional season in the wake of much adversity. The WBCA recognizes and applauds her leadership example in serving her team and continued rebuilding efforts in her Gulf Coast community.”

This season, Scovel’s 21st as head coach, the Lady Commodores finished the regular season with a 20-5 record. Last year, she led the team to a 28-4 record and its 17th conference championship, 12th regional championship and a fourth-place finish in the NJCAA National Championship. As head coach of Gulf Coast, she has 595 wins and only 82 losses. She has also led the team to become the first Florida junior college to win a national title in women’s basketball with championships in 2017, 2016, 2010, 2008 and 20013.

“The United States Marine Corps proudly recognizes Mary Scovel for her leadership with the Lady Commodores and her commitment to women’s basketball,” said Lieutenant Colonel Christian Devine, national director, marketing and communications, Marine Corps Recruiting Command. “The hard work and dedication needed to achieve this recognition from HIS/HERS peers embodies the fighting spirit of all Marines.”

The WBCA Two-Year College National Coach of the Year is selected by a committee of coaches. This year’s finalists were:



Andrew Morong

Central Maine Community College

Karrie Redeker

Illinois Central College

Jack Trosper

Wabash Valley College

Byron Coleman

Angelina College

Cayla Petree

South Plains College

Trenia Tillis Hoard

Tyler Junior College

Nate Vogel

Miles Community College

James Frey

South Georgia Technical College

Visit to see a list of past recipients.

About the WBCA
Founded in 1981, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association is the professional association for coaches of women's and girls' basketball at all levels of competition. The WBCA offers educational resources that coaches need to help make themselves better leaders, teachers and mentors to their players; provides opportunities for coaches to connect with peers in the profession; serves as the unifying voice of a diverse community of coaches to the organizations that control the game; and celebrates those coaches, players and other individuals who excel each year and contribute to the advancement of the sport. Visit for more details about the Association.