Johnson County's Ben Conrad Named 2016 United States Marine Corps/WBCA Junior/Community College National Coach of the Year

ATLANTA (March 15, 2016) – Ben Conrad, head coach at Johnson County Community College in Overland Park, Kansas, is the recipient of the Pat Summitt Trophy presented to the 2016 United States Marine Corps/WBCA Junior/Community College National Coach of the Year, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) announced today. This marks the 34th year since 1983 that the WBCA has presented this honor to a junior/community college head coach.

"The WBCA is proud to name Ben as the 2016 United States Marine Corps/WBCA Junior/Community College National Coach of the Year," said WBCA Executive Director Danielle Donehew. "Ben was selected as the winner by his peers after leading his team to an exceptional season. The WBCA recognizes and applauds his leadership example that can be seen in his student-athletes, institution, and community.”

"The Marine Corps continues to enjoy our long and successful partnership with the WBCA.  For us, one of the major highlights of the relationship is to annually recognize the organization's outstanding coaches," said Lieutenant Colonel Brian Proctor, Assistant Chief of Staff Diversity, Marine Corps Recruiting Command.  "Each of these fine individuals, chosen by their peers to receive this well-deserved honor, exemplifies the Marine Corps leadership values of honor, courage and commitment."

Conrad, finished his eighth season at Johnson County, coached the top-ranked Lady Cavaliers to an unblemished 30-0 record during the regular season.

Conrad has amassed an incredible record in his 14 seasons as a college head coach, 331-125 (.727), but has seen the most success at Johnson County, 238-33 (.881).  He led the Lady Cavaliers to the 2015 NJCAA Division II National Championship. He has posted seven straight 30-win seasons, a first in NJCAA women’s basketball history, a school-record 34 wins this season, three other NJCAA DII tournament appearances (2011, 2012 and 2013) and four KJCCC conference titles.

The Alleman, Iowa, native, has accumulated many awards and recognitions since taking over the Johnson County program in 2008. He was named the Spalding® NJCAA Women’s Division II National Coach of the Year and NJCAA Division II Coach of the National Tournament in 2015, NJCAA Women’s District B Coach of the Year from 2011-13 and again in 2015, and the Kansas East Jayhawk Conference Women’s Coach of the Year in 2010, 2012-13, 2014 and 2016.

The United States Marine Corps and the WBCA present the Pat Summitt Trophy, named for the legendary University of Tennessee coach, to the United States Marine Corps/WBCA National Coach of the Year annually in each of the six WBCA membership divisions (NCAA Divisions I, II and III; NAIA; junior/community college and high school).

The national coach of the year is selected from a list of finalists composed of the eight regional coaches of the year, who are chosen by vote of their peers in their respective WBCA membership regions, and were announced earlier this week via social media.  They are:

        Region 4 – Misty Opat, Rock Valley College
        Region 5 – Ben Conrad, Johnson County Community College
        Region 6 – Jeff Allen, Collin College
        Region 7 – Randy Rogers, College of Southern Idaho
       • Region 9 – Cal Cochran, Daytona State College


About the WBCA:
Founded in 1981, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association promotes women's basketball by unifying coaches at all levels to develop a reputable identity for the sport and to foster and promote the development of the game in all of its aspects as a sport for women and girls. For more information about the WBCA, please visit

- WBCA -