ATLANTA (March 12, 2019) — Jody Martinez of Taylor University has been named the 2019 United States Marine Corps/WBCA NAIA National Coach of the Year, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association announced today.

Martinez will be presented with the Pat Summitt Trophy, named for the late legendary University of Tennessee coach and awarded annually to the United States Marine Corps/WBCA National Coach of the Year in each of the WBCA’s six membership divisions, during the 2019 WBCA Convention, which will be held in conjunction with the NCAA Women’s Final Four in Tampa Bay, Florida.

"The WBCA is proud to name Jody Martinez as the 2019 United States Marine Corps/WBCA NAIA National Coach of the Year," said Danielle Donehew executive director of the WBCA. "Jody was selected as the winner by his peers after leading his team to an exceptional season. The WBCA recognizes and applauds his leadership example that can be seen in his student-athletes, institution and community.”

Martinez is in his second year as the head women’s basketball coach of the Trojans. The team finished the regular season with a record of 28-4. In his first season at the helm, he led Taylor to its first 20-win season in five years and its first NAIA National Tournament appearance since 2010. Before joining Taylor, he had 17 years of successful head coaching experience at the NAIA level. During 16 years at Bethel College and one at Southeastern University his teams qualified for eight NAIA National Tournaments, advanced to the Elite Eight five times, and he earned coach of the year honors 11 times.

“The United States Marine Corps proudly recognizes Jody Martinez for his leadership with the Trojans and his commitment to women’s basketball,” said Lieutenant Colonel Christian Devine, national director, marketing and communications, Marine Corps Recruiting Command. “The hard work and dedication needed to achieve this recognition from his peers embodies the fighting spirit of all Marines.”

The NCAA NAIA National Coach of the Year is selected by a committee of coaches. This year’s finalists were:



Daniel Waldeck

The Master’s University

Chris Yaw

Northwestern College

Taylor Possail

Columbia College (Missouri)

Ginger Colvin

Campbellsville University

Chris Nelson

Bethel University (Tennessee)

Visit to see a list of past recipients.

About the WBCA
Founded in 1981, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association is the professional association for coaches of women's and girls' basketball at all levels of competition. The WBCA offers educational resources that coaches need to help make themselves better leaders, teachers and mentors to their players; provides opportunities for coaches to connect with peers in the profession; serves as the unifying voice of a diverse community of coaches to the organizations that control the game; and celebrates those coaches, players and other individuals who excel each year and contribute to the advancement of the sport. Visit for more details about the Association.